Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 14, 2017
I and my husband stayed there for 1 night. The room was clean and comfortable. We didn't have enough time to really explore the property due to our time constraints, but will do so in the future. The food was delicious and the staff were very friendly and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beautiful view and comfortable space to enjoy it

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Room size, balcony, view, decor, location. Several options for dining.
Cons: Staff do not seem to be well-trained. Need more quality control.
Location: Location is beautiful. Near the Canadian border. If you like golf, it would be great.
We stayed one night because we had something to do in Blaine the next day. Our room with balcony facing the bay was very nice, and we loved the view. Dinner at the Pierside Kitchen was very good. Some aspects of the stay were less than we expected. Parking fills up close to the hotel, so we had to park at some distance in a nearby condo lot. Staff at check in were friendly but seemed somewhat disorganized. We thought some wine on our balcony before dinner would be nice, but hadn't thought to bring some. A bottle that might cost less than $15 at the store ran us about $40. The icing on the cake was that we forgot to check the shower when we first occupied the room. Morning of check-out we found no water coming out of the bathtub shower or faucet. Reported it to desk and they sent someone up while we were at breakfast. Did not seem to have helped, and they left no message about whether it would get fixed. On checkout they reduced our payment to make up for our lack of shower. Really pretty place but needs some staff training.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is great, restaurant service could be better

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The hotel is great. The room felt homey and the bed is so comfortable, however, I don't like the location of the refrigerator as it was a bit inconvenient and odd. Otherwise the room was great. We checked our oyster bar and the service was disappointing. There was no hostess around so we sat ourselves. Then we realized they probably didn't know we weren't there so we checked in at a hostess later on. We also asked to sit outside but were told it is for "dog owners only." When the people that were already out there has NO dogs. So we were sat where we sat ourselves. Half an hr later someone finally said hello. We asked about the sitting situation for outside and we were told we were "misinformed." So we were sat outside. Once we were seated there we got served and everything was fine after that. But my initial impression was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellingham WA

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 26, 2017
This is our favorite place to go. We always go to Packers for dinner and Pierside Kitchen for breakfast. We do an overnight every couple of months. It is really a nice place to stay we highly recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Resort amenities, fine waterfront dining

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Extensive resort amenities, long beach walks, heated pool. Several restaurant choices. Offered upgrade to water view room on check-in for $50. Spacious room, long hallways, only two central (but fast) elevators, A/C easy to adjust yet a little noisy. Plenty of (free) parking. Next to marina. Unique waterfront experience at the end of the road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mill Creek, WA

Too expensive for what you get.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
No fridge, no microwave and no complimentary breakfast. Also for $225 a night you'd expect more than a peek-a-boo view of the water. Also our room was quite a walk from our room to the elevator. I would stay in Birch Bay with a great view, all the amenities Semiahmoo lacked and pay a lot less next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
It was our 25th anniversary and the staff were very accommodating with room service and a complimentary bottle of wine. Enjoyed the dinner and watching the sunset by the beach and a bonfire
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel has maintenance issues

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The hotel location is great however there are major maintenance issues. Air conditioning unit did not work at all and I also had to call maintenance to get shower working. It's a nice hotel but management definitely needs to spend some money on the hotel itself.
4 out of 5
by Gurvinder

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels