Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trowbridge, Wilts U.K.

A very pleasant Hotel close to the beautiful Lake!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Overlooks the beautiful Lake Bled. Quite a lot of free parking, but not always accessible.
Location: Many nearby attractions, including the lake itself, including, Bled Castle, Soteska Vintgar gorge & Kranjska Gora. Handy for the airport & the Capital
Excellent breakfast, nice indoor swimming pool and gym facilities. Pleasant room(s) and friendly, helpful staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Maja Simeonov-Nedeljkov, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ron, Thank you very much for your lovely review of our hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Bled and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new delhi

Lovely hotel with a great location!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Had a lovely stay at the hotel. It has a good buffet breakfast spread with a beautiful swimming pool to boot. Location is very central and walking to all main attractions. Attentive and helpful staff. Will totally recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Tine Brodnjak, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking your time and posting your review, we very much appreciate your feedback and your kind words of recommendation. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good solid hotel.

Posted May 30, 2017
Get what you pay for and this is above average. Good facilities such as the pool (although small), nice deck with view over the lake. Friendly staff. Only thing was that on both mornings the shower was cold!!! It was hot in the evenings n
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Tine Brodnjak, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for the review on our hotel. We are very pleased you generally enjoyed your stay and wish to apologize for the cold water. This should not happen, but it might have been due to a larger group of people taking showers all at the same time. We are very glad this did not spoil your general impression of Bled and our hotel and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mel

Well appointed hotel, close to lake and transport

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Breakfasts and the luxury
Cons: Over heating of room and even communal areas at times. printed instructions on how to use the television.
Location: Handy to Lake, electric boat to the island, shops supermarket and to transport. 20 minutes walk to castle. 10 to 15 minutes walk to older part of town
Comfortable room with excellent breakfasts. Views of the castle marred by shed out the window. Free bicycle enabled an unplanned activity. Our room had a window in the roof, which let good light in and opened to let cool air in. Room tended to get hot during the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Maja Simeonov - Nedeljkov, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Malcolm, Thank you very much for your lovely review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased you appreciated many features of the hotel and wish to thank you for pointing them out to fellow travellers. We also wish to apologize if the room temperature was too high. Although there is an independent heating control in each of our guest rooms, transition periods between seasons are always somewhat tricky and this year in particular the temperatures in April ranged from below minus to well above 20℃. We are certainly glad your overall impression of Bled and the hotel were good and hope to get a chance to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Maja Simeonov - Nedeljkov Kompas Hotel Bled
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Nice hotel in great location

Posted May 1, 2017
Good hotel, location was ideal, great view of the lake!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Tine Brodnjak, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review, your feedback is very important to us. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Best regards
5 out of 5
by Ofer

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
Great Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Parking area always full , If pool was bigger
Great staff ,helped me getting a parking spot ,good breakfast ,pool a little too small and crowded
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

More than I expected

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: I liked how they went out of their way to help us make it an amazing wedding week for my friends. Even found info for a horse and carriage ride!
Cons: More than one coffee machine at breakfast. The coffee line was REALLY long some mornings.
Location: Walking distance (1-2blocks) from the lake and all it has to offer- breathtaking really. Also, lots of shops and restaurants very near!
I stayed at Hotel Kompas for nearly a week. I was with a group that booked 5 rooms as we were all part a wedding traveling from the US. With a little coordination between the manager and the groom's mother, our stay was above and beyond my expectations. Even though we all booked separately and at separate times, our rooms were grouped together on the same floor. I had one small difficulty with the safe in my room and reception sent someone up immediately to help me! All of the staff was very kind and professional. The room was much bigger than I had expected compared to other stays in Europe. Although breakfast was almost identical each day, it was rather good. The homemade jam was my favorite. I was far and away impressed and got more than I had expected!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LaSalle, Quebec

Nice view on the lake. Well located. Near shopping

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: None for us.
Location: Well located. From our balcony, we had a view on the lake and mountains. Shopping and walking very closed to the lake.
We stayed one night but we appreciated very well the hotel and his location near the lake. By his location, we thought that we were in Switzerland. Breakfast was excellent. We recommend without hesitation this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Flatters to deceive

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Leisure facilities
Cons: Modernise bedrooms and bathrooms. Double rooms, balconies, fit for two people. Breakfasts advertise availability of omelettes and fried eggs etc. .
Location: Location of hotel very good for lake and plenty to do nearby. Only issue is car/coach park and busy road at rear and side of hotel.
3 couples stayed for 10 days. I had asked for a free room upgrade to lake view but hotel could not accommodate. What two couples did not expect was free downgrade to rooms which were exceedingly small, on first floor overlooking busy and noisy car park and in one case a busy road. Bathrooms were the smallest seen in a 4 star hotel and shower in one badly marked with mould. Balcony in one room only sufficient for 1 small chair and in the other just fitted 2 chairs. I am convinced that at least two rooms were intended for single occupation but a double bed had been installed making it difficult to even pass one another in the room. Nearly all rooms at hotel except 2 of the 3 we stayed in had nice flowers cascading from the balcony. Did not complain immediately because hotel was full with conference and tours so no point. Did complain a few days into the holiday stating that hotel was not 4 star and very disappointed with accommodation and happy to discuss. Result was complete silence. Complaint confirmed via e-mail towards end of holiday. Result was complete silence.Breakfast was poor in our opinion but not a view shared by everyone posting a review. Staff generally OK but a smile now and then would have been nice. A great pity that hotel chose not to engage because it was not all poor with the swimming and leisure facilities fine and room generally clean but with occasional minor issues. Overall a big thumbs down to this hotel which concentrates on tours and conferences.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Maja Simeonov - Nedeljkov, Kompas Hotel Bled, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. David! Thank you for your review. We are glad you were happy with the hotel's swimming and leisure facilities as well as the cleanliness of your room and we are just as disappointed we did not manage to live up to your expectations in all areas. We apologize we made you wait for a reply to your e-mail, but it was sent on Friday, Sep 16th in the evening and since week-ends and the beginnings of the week are the busiest part of the week for us, we did not yet manage to investigate into the matter in order to give you a proper reply. We had indeed received an e-mail from you on Aug 17th, inquiring about the possibility of a free room upgrade. As we tried to make you understand, the hotel was nearly full at that point and granting a free upgrade for three rooms for 10 day stays would have been extremely difficult. We did offer to assign lake view rooms against a supplement, as is standard policy, but you opted against this. We are very sorry you were disappointed with the rooms. Unfortunately there is not much we can do about the layout of the hotel, but we do our best to make the rooms clean and comfortable, with features such as our luxury bed concept with high-quality mattresses, pillow menus and first-class cotton bed linen. Although our hotel is not new, we are constantly making investments and are planning to continue to do so. We are truly surprised by your comments of our breakfast, which is normally one of the traits we receive most positive feedback on. The omelettes and fried eggs are indeed part of our breakfast a-la-carte menu and are prepared fresh, when requested directly from the waiter. Once again, we would like to express our disappointment that your stay with us was anything less than completely satisfying. We hope you will consider staying with us again to give us another chance at providing a superior experience.