Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Normal, IL

Posted Feb 7, 2017
TV had no signal but was quickly fixed. Could not adjust temperature kept turning down but didn't seem to change. Fan right next to bed would not shut off couldn't sleep between being too hot and fan running. Breakfast for 2 was supposed to be included in price only gave 1 but before we were through they corrected that error. Waiter we had at breakfast was very friendly, super energetic and great personality!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Lyndsey R., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize about the temperature and will correct that as soon as possible. We are glad you enjoyed the service with breakfast and hope to see you at the Marriott again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, comfortable

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: atmosphere, garage skywalk.
Cons: The fan system, was chilled even when fan was set to low
Location: was in town for ISU event- perfect location
First room assigned was not ready when we walked in to room, was assigned a new room, was fine. Wish I could have turned the fan to off mode. Disappointed we had to pay for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Lyndsey R., Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We apologize the first room was not ready at your arrival time and the fan was too cool. Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice, close to ISU

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: close to ISU
Cons: Icey the night we stayed, needed more salt in front of hotel.
Location: Restaurants
ISU graduation ...good location! This survey for expedia is frustrating!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Steve M., AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel next to ISU campus.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Overall, this is a very nice hotel: the rooms are nice and clean, beds comfortable, and it looks very nice inside. Additionally, it is right next to the ISU campus, which makes it great for campus visits. However, there are some unexpected charges for certain amenities that most hotels include in room prices these days (and which had changed since my previous stay): to park in their parking garage is now an $8 fee, and there is no longer free WiFi available to guests (it is a minimum of a $13 fee for their basic service). Overall, a good place to stay so long as you are ready for the extra fees.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Steve M., AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Unfortunately we do not own nor manage the parking facility. However, basic wifi is complimentary. There is only a charge with the upgraded wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent on all levels

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Downtown Normal a lot to do, bars/ restaurants, entertainment
Looks brand new, well staffed, very friendly. Restaurant was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Steve, AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You Don't Get What You Pay For

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Great facilities. Clean.
Cons: It would have been worth the extra cost had an of the standards that you find at any other hotel actually been included in the price.
I booked through Expedia because I have never been to the area and did not know what hotels where there. I found the Marriott and it had good reviews so I booked. The hotel was great BUT it was significantly more expensive than most of the others in the area. When I got there I tried to log into wifi and found out it would cost me ($15 I think...somewhere close to that). When I went to the front desk it was explained that it was because I booked through a third party. The person at the front desk said the reason for this is because they consider themselves a full service hotel. This didn't make any sense but I did try to look on the bright side for the cost. Full service hotel, great. I am being charged $8 for parking in your parking lot. Is that included? The reply was no, it is not. Okay, does it include breakfast. No, but you can go to the restaurant in the hotel. I think she said breakfast was $14. Somewhere around that. Okay, so what is included? How is this full service. I would have gotten more for a lot less at the Holiday Inn Express.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Steve AGM, Hotel Management
I appreciate the feedback. We do not own or manage the parking garage and therefore we can not set the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hey, it's a generic Marriott. What do you want?

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Room was fine, but food was awful. Overcooked rubber chicken, etc. If you want to eat, go down the street
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Steve M., Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I forward on these notes to our culinary team so they can be aware of the issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, condition, work out room, bar.
Cons: Make bag carts more accessible especially with parking deck parking location.
Location: Shopping and dining were within walking distance. Ability to get to our car was nice as well.
Very nice hotel that met my wife and my needs. Clean and in great condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Steve M., AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I agree, we can never have enough bell carts during our check in process.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: That it was within walking distance of so much.
Cons: They could improve on their green policy.
Location: Not so keen on the trains going through every couple hours and blowing their horns. The rest was good. Good food, good shopping and close to my event
Close to good eateries. Close to Braeden Auditorium I was disappointed in that a card was in the room for green activity. So I did request only more coffee for morning. But when I came back to the room, new towels, clean sheets, new glasses, so much for going green and saving on laundry. I was disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Steve M., AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. The town of Normal is working on the designated quiet zone. Hopefully we will see this in our near future. I will also check in with housekeeping on the Go Green designation and see where the ball was dropped. We definitely strive to do what we can for the environment from our lighting, composting and earth friendly paper products.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bourbonnais IL

Breakfast Buffet

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: It was gorgeous! Wish we were able to spend more time.
We ended up not eating breakfast because it looked like it was a full service (pay) situation. Probably just us being confused, but our deal said it included the breakfast. Not explained very well.......
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Steve M., AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the confusion concerning your breakfast. Rates that include breakfast will be given vouchers at the time of check in.