Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

1960's hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: The location is tranquil with little things to do nearby. I'm sure during the Summer there is much more action at the marina itself.
The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The view of the marina and the grounds were landscaped to perfection. The restaurant food inside is extremely limited and it was ok. No coffee in the morning until 7am, so if you're an early riser and don't want to use the room coffee machine, you'll have to wait. Decor is dated, yet clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ladies weekend

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Over priced for what you get. Beautiful grounds and facility. Breakfast buffet and staff were great. Hotel windows dirty, gazebo full of spider webs need cleaned, hard to relax in it, room walls too thin. Our " neighbor" ran his tv until 4:30am should have called desk I know. Just made for restless sleep. We will stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Musty, meldew, dirty.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The room smelled of mold and meldew. The bedding was very damp,as if it was never completely dry before taking it out of the dryer. Our tub had soap scum and hairs in it. The old fan in the bathroom did not work however, there was a sign on the mirror sating it ran automatically and silently. Since the mirror had water running down it after a shower and there was no air circulating when you put your hand by it, "something" was broken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Lobby and hallway way to hot. Room cooled down a little but still to warm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Hotel needs upgraded

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The pool was actually very nice with plenty of sitting. But hard for disabled people to get in and out of. No handrails to hold on to, to get in & out
Cons: All entrance doors need to be replaced so they work with key cards. Food was substandard and cold whether served or on buffet. Need kid activities.
Location: Lots of stuff to do in Bloomington, Oliver Winery, parks, boating, swimming, kayaking, canoeing, hiking.
Requested room on main floor with no stairs because I'm disabled. Need room to be close to amenities (e.g. pool, restaurant, beach, etc.). Called hotel right after booking to see if they could accommodate me and they assured me it would be no probable. The first room they put us in there was no direct entrance, I had to use stairs to get to and was about as far away from all amenities as possible. After calling the front desk, they put me closer to a main level entrance without stairs but the entrance door could not be opened with key card. After working with front desk, manager, and maintenance for over two hours after arrival it was determined that all hotel entrance doors in the hotel needed to be replaced and key cards would not work unless after putting in the card, someone really strong had to manhandle and pull super hard on the door to gain entrance, I was not that strong. Our room was also only marginally closer to amenities. So everyday it was a hike back and forth to the main lobby to go in and out of the hotel with no parking available for handicapped people so our car was parked clear at the opposite end of the hotel from the main entrance. This was so frustrating because they had assured me that they could accommodate me way in advanced. We left a day early because of these problems, the front desk assured me that they would refund one day, but when we checked out they said we had to call Expedia because we booked through them to get our money back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2016
We were pleasantly surprised by the remote location and overall quietness. It was a beautiful location with easy parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old world "charm"

Posted Oct 15, 2015
The rooms smell musty. The beds are small and the lighting is minimal. The restaurant food was good but the draft beer smelled bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive for what we got!

Posted Sep 22, 2015
We spent over $200.00 per night. The room was OK with a nice lake view. The sink stopper was stuck so water pooled in the sink. We asked the desk to fix it. They said they would be right up, but never arrived. The morning of our first night the dead bolt lock was stuck and we were locked in our room. Finally, after 20 minutes of work I was able to get out of the room. We didn't lock it the next night. We have stayed in many hotels across the country. This one was a 69.00 hotel with a 215.00 price tag. Way too much! We won't be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Reasonable place to stay for IU events

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Its nearly impossible to find a good hotel value in Bloomington on any IU weekend event. Four Winds provides a reasonable hotel option for IU events.
Cons: The grounds and the patios could be better maintained.
Overall, the Marina and Lodge is a relaxing place to stay. Has easy access to IU Campus and events--20 minute drive. The grounds could use an update visually. Our patio was covered with dirt and cobwebs--more attention should be paid to that sort of cleaning, but in fairness, its close to a lake and functioning marina. The actual room was clean and comfortable. Great staff who were helpful. Great view of Lake Monroe.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Worst experience ever

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: They are beyond improvement!
We arrived after 9pm travelling for 12 hours. Had to pay $7 entrace fee at gate. Hotel 25 minutes from central town and restaurant closes at 9 pm, no room service. If you want decent meal you have to travel back to town and back again. Could hear next door guest talking all the time. Wi-fi connection poor. Stangers barged into our room in middle of night because their room key worked on our room! Coffee in room but no liquid milk (only powder). Coffe not included in price of breakfast!! They charge $2 per cup. When we arrived back the next evening we were locked oyut of our room and our room keys weren't working! In addition our room was not serviced- we arived back late to find unmade beds, wet towels, no replacement of coffee, sjampoo etc. The price is equivalent to Hilton, Mariot etc but serive compares to Super 8 or even lower. VERY POOR service and many hidden costs.