Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant and unique experience.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. Great breakfast and service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Hotel with character and the most amazing staff

Posted Jan 19, 2016
We booked a room at this hotel because it was within walking distance to the coliseum. We've never been to a B&B before, and all I can say is what a wonderful experience-not a detail missed. From the tour when we checked in, to the little baked cookies to snack on, the decor, and of course the most amazing sit down breakfast-everything was above and beyond what we expected. The staff was extremely welcoming and answered all our questions. We will definitely stay here again if we come back into town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TX Traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
One of the nicest old BnB facilities I've stayed. The staff was knowledgeable of the history of the property and very accommodating. Facilities were in excellent condition as the restoration of an older historic home requires consistent work. The breakfast was wonderful. Looking forward to visiting again, and hopefully staying longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Wonderful Old Time Mansion

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Old time mansion atmosphere and the staff. The old water closet type commodes. The old style light bulbs. The furnishings.
Cons: I can think of nothing that could be improved. My advice to travelers is to not check into the cookie cutter motels in the area. Experience this place
Location: All the attractions of Bloomington are nearby. I didn't have time to wander outside the mansion. I enjoyed being indoors so much that I never left.
From the moment we arrived, the staff was efficient, friendly and helpful. Brian was excellent and Laura (cook) were excellent. Laura's breakfast was of chef quality. To spend time in the library and the rooms furnished like they were back in the day was an experience I'll never forget. Thank you, Vrooman mansion and staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet getaway if you go during the week

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
Had the place to ourselves on a Sunday night. Lots of character, very good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Raymond from STL

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
We needed a room that was close to the Coliseum where Rod Stewart was performing. You can walk there from here. We had a very nice room with a private bathroom. Beautiful The breakfast was fantastic! We had to leave before the normal 8:00 breakfast served in a gorgeous vintage dinning room but the staff had our breakfast ready by 7:30. A great find!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liberty Township, Ohio

One of a kind bed and breakfast

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Everything from the décor of each room to the delicious breakfast to the immaculate grounds and on and on.
Cons: You cannot improve on perfection!
Location: Some really great places to eat, such as Lucca's Restaurant.
This is truly a mansion and one of a kind place to stay. My wife and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary and plan to go back every year to celebrate. Staff and owners treat you like a member of the family. The mansion is steeped in history. Like going back in time and living like a millionaire in the late 1800s. You have to be there to truly appreciate this building.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A must stay in Bloomington-Normal Area.

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
This is the only place I want to stay in Central IL. The accommodations are so clean, welcoming and unique. It feels like you are stepping back into the 1800's. The staff could not be any nicer or accommodating to your needs. They are very flexible and eager to make your stay better in any way that they can. I can not say how perfect this place is! Stay for business to feel like your at home, or go for a weekend retreat with a loved one. This place would be a great surprise for an anniversary.
5 out of 5
by Bob from outside Chicago

Perfect when visiting Illinois Wesleyan

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels
Very historical and comfortable. Very close to either campus. Very friendly staff. Nice change from run of the mill, cookie cutter hotel rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An oasis of calm...

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The very warm welcome, the beautiful house and its surroundings, the delicious breakfast and refreshments - in fact, what's not to like?!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lovely residential area with a friendly bar within walking distance (5mins)
...after an arduous journey from Chicago. It was a great relief to arrive at Vrooman Mansion after a long day on the road as we started our trip down Route 66 and we received a very warm welcome. The house and its residential area were lovely, but the interior of the Mansion was particularly delightful being filled with antiques and beautiful furnishings. After a restful evening with everything provided for (tv, refreshments, snacks, magazines & books) and a comfortable night's sleep, we were greeted in the morning by a delicious home-made breakfast which kept us going for several hours on the next leg of our journey. We hope very much to visit again.