Ratings based on 1,473 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Very iffy neighborhood

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Windows open.
Cons: Everything else.
Location: See above
Every time we stepped outside, somebody walking down the sidewalk would try to panhandle us. Overall, would not recommend this hotel for women traveling alone, families, or older couples. Not a good value for the money, either. And our Expedia reservation never showed up on the hotel computer, so we had to pay again for their last room, which was more expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheboygan, WI

Great customer service. Good place to stay!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Customer service! Location! Price!
Cons: Not much.
Location: Mall of America, Ikea, downtown Minneapolis
We arrived to a nice, clean room. However, we did discover one problem the next morning. I can't say what it was specifically, but I will say it was a completely viable oversight that, most likely, any housekeeping staff at any hotel in America could have made. We told the staff member at the desk at checkout, and he instantly offered to refund our full price. I didn't even have to ask. They take customer satisfaction VERY seriously here, I highly recommend this hotel. I would definitely stay here again. In fact, I'm planning on it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: the pool was nice and clean. That was great.
Cons: The hotel rooms need upgrading.
Location: That was perfect. Everything was close by.
The hotel is in need of upgrading. The carpet felt wet and smelled of a footlocker. New carpet is needed. The door to the room would not stay shut unless you slammed it. The toilet would not stop running. The air conditioning unit would not put much cold air out. Yeah it was disappointing. The front desk person at mid day and early, early morning were not friendly. I felt like I was bothering them to ask a question.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
No communication with the guests...gps could not find the hotel... went to 3 different hotels...did not let us know about breakfast only lasting til 9 am
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The front desk staffs are friendly and accomodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the mall of America

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Honestly we were just in the hotel to sleep because we spend all our time sight seeing so the stay wasn't bad at all , if your trying to stay some where near the mall of America this hotel is only about less then a mile to the mall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richfield

Fine for short stay.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The hotel isn't in the greatest neighborhood, however conveniently close to the mall etc... Lobby is nice and looks remodeled. Breakfast was par for course. Tv remote didn't work. Had to use the power button on the actual tv only to find out it had just one channel since we couldn't control the cable box. When politely telling the front desk, he was defensive and blamed us for not knowing how to use it, instead of apologizing for the dead batteries. Will not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IA

Nice, clean affordable hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Clean hotel, nice staff who are there to help. Hotel is at an easy location off freeway and close to many attractions like Mall of America. About 20 minutes away from Minneapolis. Good alternative if you don't want to stay in the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ND

Changed from AmericInn and didn't let me know

Posted Jun 28, 2017
No one called in advance to let me know they were switching from AmericInn to Baymont, so the first problem was that I spent a bunch of time trying to find the hotel. Second, when I got there, I found out they'd removed all the fridges and microwaves from the room. I have celiac disease so I bring some food with me, so I had no place to keep it. My only option was to switch to a suite, which would have cost way more than the food was worth (and was twice as much as my room), so I ended up throwing out the food. Third, a lot of the things I expected to see at breakfast weren't there (like hard boiled eggs) so there was nothing available for breakfast. If they had called or emailed, I could have at least cancelled my reservation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Des Moines, Iowa

Basic hotel, nothing special

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: N/A
Cons: A remodel!
Location: Mall of America
Hotel is dated and rooms are dingy. The pictures on Expedia, the hotel's website and other sites do not match what you experience in person. Rooms are basic at best. Staff was quick and courteous. Breakfast was okay.