Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Good location

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Close to Theatres etc
Cons: Cleaning staff need more training, so they do not ignore 'Do not disturb' signs and walk in on occupants.
Location: Theatres, main shopping areas
Location makes for easy access to Theatres, Covent Garden etc. Hotel was fine, clean and tidy. Bedside lights didn't work but that was not an issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor!

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Bathroom
Cons: T.V, Internet connection, quality of some of the fixtures and fittings
Location: Central London - so plenty do do.
T.V. not working, Internet connection not working, room was underground, curtain for the 'non-window' was like a towel. Bathroom was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford

Great stay

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Location and price
Cons: A small bar
Location: Two minute walk to nearest tube station. The whole of London on the doorstep
Fantastic location and incredibly low price. Came to London to celebrate my girlfriends birthday with friends just for one night and needed somewhere to stay that was close to everything but not too expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent staff, very very small room

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: staff are polite and nice
Cons: breakfast , room size
excellent staff, very very small room. bad terrible breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North West UK

Great hotel close to sites & transport

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Easy to get to and close by important sites. Clean room with daily maid service. Staff all friendly.
Cons: Finding a seat at breakfast was a bit hit & miss. I stayed for 3 nights and managed to get a seat twice, the other time I ate out.
Location: Close by Oxford St., the tube, theatre and British Museum. Other sites I walked to but HOHO route near by. Good location.
Found the hotel easily enough as close by British Museum & about 25 mins walk from Euston main station (tube close by also). Checked in fine with no problems and went down to room (in basement). Room was a good size with double bed (storage underneath), open cupboard, coffee/tea maker, flat-screen TV (with USB port so I could watch a few films although inserting the USB was difficult due to TV position). Good size bathroom with bath (I made use of this) and shower (this also) with water being nice and hot. Hotel was in a good location and close to transport and sites (I walked so distance wasn't an issue). Very close to Oxford Street if you like your shopping. Plenty of cheap places to eat close by. Check out was fine (10am) and I was able to leave my luggage FOC while I did more site seeing which really helped as train wasn't due to leave till 4pm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stafford, UK

An old hotel, looking a little tired

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Decoration, wider doors, new carpet
Location: Our office is within a short stretch of legs, and it's clear that the Hotel is near the British Museum, but don't know about anything else
Hotel Reception was clean and tidy, doors were the double door type which meant individual doors were a bit slim. Lift was tiny - glad it was just me riding in it, but based on it being an old hotel I can understand this. Floor hallways were tired in the decoration front. Room was okay. LIght switches were strange and not wired correctly to allow either one to turn on/off different lights, Carpet was a little damp in front of bathroom, although shower was really powerful with only a short shower screen, so can see why this was happening. Also bathroom decoration was a bit tired - it's obvious the hotel has painted over the tiles to try and freshen it up, however some of the paint has come off so it just looks poor. Would I stay here again - yes, but I would be looking at other options first
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Close to soho

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Workers give you attitude and we booked a room with 2 separate beds and they did not have it and we wanted to cancel and they did not let us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolute disgrace.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything, it’s seriously poor.
Location: N/a
This room and the service was not worthy of nearly £200 per night. I have taken pictures. How do I claim an element of compensation?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

We wanted a hotel near Covent Garden

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Convenient position
Cons: See above comments
Location: We were next to Tottenham Court Road so theatres and shopping were close to hand
The hotel was very convenient to where we wanted to go. The rooms although not big were adequate. They were very clean and provided all the extras like tea and coffee making facilities and complementary shampoos etc. The rubber surround was hanging of the shower screen which was unfortunate as the bathrooms look as though they have recently been refurbished to a good standard. There were also some loose wires hanging from the ceiling that had been capped off but looked untidy. Breakfast was billed as continental but we were only offered cereal, toast, juice and tea or coffee. Croissants and full English breakfast were extra. The hotel itself is a bit of a rabbit warren. The direction signs were just posters, there was only one small lift working which was very slow and the breakfast room was not large enough for all the guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Bal, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay and please accept my sincere apologies. We are a 3 star hotel and we have refurbished most of the hotel except 3 floors and we would be completing the rest of the refurbishment in the next year so some of the minor things in the new rooms have been left by the builders which we will try and fix asap. Your dis-satisfaction with your stay was not mentioned until you checked out, not giving the property an opportunity to correct your unspoken of issues at the time of your stay. . Our guests are our number one priority at the property and if someone is dissatisfied with their experience, we work very hard to correct this immediately and in a timely fashion in order to turn their experience around. I have also informed our management of your comments regarding the bathroom shower screen. There is not much that can be done right away, but hopefully by next year we will have all our rooms of a good quality. Also, we do not charge you for breakfast as we include breakfast in the room rate. So, we only offer continental BF but if you like full English BF there is a small charge for it. Thanks,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Average stay

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Stayed here for one night, the room was quite cold and the heaters / radiators in the room did not work. The shower drain was heavily blocked resulting in a very wet bathroom, the pressure on the shower was too much. The free breakfast was average, only to be told one cereal and one drink per person and told not to touch anything else on the continental buffet table. The lift did not reach the 5th floor which meant I had to carry my suitcase up one staircase, the walls and carpet in this area was very tatty,