Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

One of many hotels near St Pancras

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Convenience, friendly reception, quiet during the night itself
Cons: Noisy air-conditioning or gas boiler noise (not sure) outside room in basement region. But this turns off late at night so not too serious.
Location: I don't like London. Hotel is convenient for getting out of London very quickly.
Overall OK, room neat, clean and modern although basic and not large.Our was next to kitchen/dining room in basement but this was no problem during the night when it was actually very quiet. Location perfect for travellers. Convenient and slept well so I am quite satisfied. Friendly receptionist.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, ON Canada

Great location close to transport

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The location was the reason we picked this hotel. The room however was very nice - much better than expected.
Cons: The stairs were the only real issue. If you have mobility issues, be sure to request a ground floor room well in advance.
Location: It's London, so lot's to do. There are several pubs within walking distance.
Very nice and modern room. Spacious by London UK standards. We had the attic level Family Room and the only draw back was the three flights of narrow stairs when moving luggage up and back. It is possible however to leave items not required at the front desk so some planning prior to arrival might reduce the number of trip up/down stairs. The location is excellent for access to both St Pancras Railway Station and London Underground.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

so convenient for Eurostar at St Pancras

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Stayed here several times and always made very welcome. The rooms are small but have everything you need for an overnight stay when using Eurostar from St Pancras. Very clean. Some rooms do not have en-suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Fantastic!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Great location across the street from St. Pancreas station. Close to everything but far enough away to have a bit of peace. Family run business and owners and staff are excellent and do everything to help you enjoy your stay in London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Front Of House, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your response and we hope to be able to accommodate you in the future. Regards Front of House
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Tiny, hot room in the heart of London.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location in the heart of London.
Cons: Have the room ready on time, and install air conditioning. Bigger bathroom.
Location: Near many restaurants, the British Museum and Library, and the Tube (underground train), and central to everything.
We chose a "triple" room for about $110 a night. The room was in a basement, with a window that opened to a weird little concrete, uncovered area. There was no air conditioning, and despite the nice, mounted oscillating fan, it was very hot for us. While the room did have 3 clean, comfortable twin beds, it was so small and claustrophobic. The bathroom had a toilet, shower, and very small sink, but it was smaller than the kind of bathroom you'd have in your room on a cruise ship. Tiny! And no counter space at all. Very difficult to work in. We arrived at the hotel at about 2:15, exhausted, and very hungry after the long 2-flight trip to London and long, hot taxi ride to the hotel. Check-in was at 3:00, and the room was not ready early. The front desk attendant steered us, nicely, to a restaurant that served our preference of foods. When we returned after a full lunch to find that our room was still not ready, it was a serious bummer. They asked us to wait in the lobby. The room was finally ready at 3:38. I've just never had to wait past check-in time for a hotel room...ever. When I complained and asked to possibly be compensated by having them throw in their $5 breakfast for the three of us, we were told that that attendant wasn't management, and wasn't allowed to make that kind of decision. We did appreciate that the next time we saw someone at the desk and mentioned it again, the attendant had heard about the request and told us that would be fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Stacey, I am very sorry about your experience at our property I am now dealing with this personally and will revert to you directly. Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, U.K.

Friendly staff, bad accommodation.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
If I had been paying 60 pounds a night for this room I would have been content... in London that's about what I would expect to pay if I had to walk down the corridor to use the toilet, the room walls were damaged by damp, and the bed was so narrow it looked like it was straight out of a military barracks. The view from the window: a tiny below street-level yard in which rubbish bags are placed... Unfortunately though I was paying over 140 pounds a night and expecting a three star hotel... so this was a real shock. I spend more than a quarter of my year living in hotels and this is the worst place I have stayed in the past couple of years. I have no idea how they got a three star rating. The staff were actually very good- but the hotel was full, and so, in spite of protesting, I was stuck in what I guess was one of their worst rooms for two nights. (Or maybe not... they did offer to change me to another room, but made pretty clear it was even worse!!) A more minor point would be that the cooked breakfast options were very limited...toast, beans, eggs, sausage and bacon... where are the mushrooms? Tomatoes? Hash browns? They gave me a free breakfast after I put on Expedia that I was unhappy with check-in. Sorry but that is nothing like satisfactory. I'd have far rather you offered me a refund and let me find somewhere satisfactory to stay. All the other guests I saw seemed to be from outside the U.K. which maybe explains the feedback rating on here...
4 out of 5
by Alessandro

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CC

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
It's below our expectation. The room was too small and apparently not the one we ordered , i.e. 161 sq. ft. and, our preference was not met as we requested a quiet room whereas we were assigned to Room no. 1 which was the only room on the ground facing the street where people had chats and shouts after bar entertainment was frequent. We had requested for changing but was turned down claiming that it was preference only. The upside is the location is so convenient to Kings Cross Station but there are ample accommodations in the surrounding for choice!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2-bedroom unit, not worth the money

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
unit needs upgrade and remodel. We were there back in Oct., the space was freezing even with heat on. Bathtub was every high, tough for kids and elderly to use
5 out of 5
by Yasser Alejandro

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
A little more expensive versus the hotels in the same street, however, it is much cleaner, better taken care of, and larger rooms than the hotels in the same street. Hence, if you are looking for comfort and a decent price, this is definitely a good choice. I was very happy with my 2 nights at the hotel.