Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good hotel for value and comfort.

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Good location with nice decor. Helpful staff for information on tours.
Cons: Some of the woodwork in the rooms needs to be repaired. Also needs some air circulation in the rooms. Ev
Location: Walking distance to the British Museum, local pubs, restaurants, Oxford street, and many other locations.
Check-in was very easy and the hotel is very close to the Underground station, and within walking distance to many restaurants and shopping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Sink and bed

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Single bed is not comfortable at all Sink was clogged and didn't drain properly Greatest was decent Location however is prime . Walking distance to everything. Overall decent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Continental breakfasts!
Excellent location close to many cafes, bookstores etc although noisy street. Good areas to walk and off the beaten tourist paths. Close to tour bus pickup and always felt safe. Rooms small but spotless. Weak point is poor continental breakfast, strongest point - excellent staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Wotif
Short but sweet room was tiny for what you paid room was clean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roanoke Virginia

Budget Hotel in Central London

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Central to many places.
Cons: Modernization.
Tavistock is in a great location. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is well worth it and the evening buffet is extremely good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Location

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Great location - within walking distance to every thing in zones 1&2. Excellent beds and shower.
2 out of 5
by John

Well situated, but NOT to be recommended

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is situated perfectly, in the university neighbourhood of Bloomsbury, just minutes walk from the London Euston train station. Unfortunately, two things work against a positive recommendation of the Tavistock, (a) the noise, and (b) the beds. The walls of this hotel are paper thin. This is especially true in those rooms that are separated from an adjoining room by only a latched door. You can hear EVERYTHING that is going on in the next room: every cough, every conversation, and their television sounds like it's right in your own room. The beds are bumpy, uneven, and much too soft (bowed down in the middle). Also, I'm slender, but I barely fit on the room's twin bed. The staff was very nice, and the lobby is attractive enough, but this doesn't matter when you don't have a comfortable stay in the actual room. I, personally, would never stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, would definately stay there again.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Good location, good staff, clean room.
Cons: Smell in closet, and in-room safes would be nice.
Location: British Museum, Russell Square tube station, various other things. Good location!
Good location, very close to a tube station, as well as the British Museum and other notable places. The staff were great, breakfast was good, room was a fine size, no problem getting around the beds etc. Was stocked with instant coffee and coffee maker, clean room and bathroom. The only thing I can think of is that the closet had an odd smell to it, like old or drying paint or something. I didn't put any clothes in it due to that. Also, I believe the room was to have a in-room safe, but there wasn't one. But overall, I'd definately stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia, Central Coast

Receptionist should be fired immediately

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It was clean. It had a bed and it had a bath in the bathroom.
Cons: Front desk...I can't stress this enough! Get your act together. I'm sure there are enough and pleasant enough people who would appreciate this job!
Front desk service appalling. The woman demanded a voucher before assigning my room. Treated me like dirt. Gave me key with instructions to return with voucher!. I obliged by coming back down to the desk with details of my booking on USB to print. Stood while she had conversation while ignoring me. Eventually she wrote on a piece of paper and pushed it towards me informing me to bring it back later. I was very tired and didn't need this. The room had already been booked a month before I arrived. I arrived on the 11th December if management want to do anything about this.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels