Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Sink and bed

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Single bed is not comfortable at all Sink was clogged and didn't drain properly Greatest was decent Location however is prime . Walking distance to everything. Overall decent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Continental breakfasts!
Excellent location close to many cafes, bookstores etc although noisy street. Good areas to walk and off the beaten tourist paths. Close to tour bus pickup and always felt safe. Rooms small but spotless. Weak point is poor continental breakfast, strongest point - excellent staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roanoke Virginia

Budget Hotel in Central London

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Central to many places.
Cons: Modernization.
Tavistock is in a great location. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is well worth it and the evening buffet is extremely good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, would definately stay there again.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Good location, good staff, clean room.
Cons: Smell in closet, and in-room safes would be nice.
Location: British Museum, Russell Square tube station, various other things. Good location!
Good location, very close to a tube station, as well as the British Museum and other notable places. The staff were great, breakfast was good, room was a fine size, no problem getting around the beds etc. Was stocked with instant coffee and coffee maker, clean room and bathroom. The only thing I can think of is that the closet had an odd smell to it, like old or drying paint or something. I didn't put any clothes in it due to that. Also, I believe the room was to have a in-room safe, but there wasn't one. But overall, I'd definately stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia, Central Coast

Receptionist should be fired immediately

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It was clean. It had a bed and it had a bath in the bathroom.
Cons: Front desk...I can't stress this enough! Get your act together. I'm sure there are enough and pleasant enough people who would appreciate this job!
Front desk service appalling. The woman demanded a voucher before assigning my room. Treated me like dirt. Gave me key with instructions to return with voucher!. I obliged by coming back down to the desk with details of my booking on USB to print. Stood while she had conversation while ignoring me. Eventually she wrote on a piece of paper and pushed it towards me informing me to bring it back later. I was very tired and didn't need this. The room had already been booked a month before I arrived. I arrived on the 11th December if management want to do anything about this.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nova scotia

Posted Nov 15, 2016
great location withing walking distance of many main attractions. the breakfast was top-notch. the room was rather small, but clean with a nice bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relatively inexpensive for Central London

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice basic hotel, excellent for access to Russell Square tube station, easy to reach West End theaters, Oxford Street shopping, Trafalgar Square and museums. Continental breakfast (toast, fruit, cereal, milk, coffee, tea) included in price; 5 pounds extra for a cooked breakfast. Several nice pubs nearby. Small rooms but you don't want to hang around in your room anyway---you're in London!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

mediocre hotel but very good location

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
You can hear people dragging their luggage outside the window and in the morning it is very loud in the hallway. Hard to sleep
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for London and convenient

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Functional room, clean but nothing special. Was happy with the price (for London) and location which suited perfectly for a one night business trip. Would not have been happy staying here for a holiday or romantic weekend. Low end three star that I would recommend for something cheap, cheerful and convenient.