Ratings based on 991 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nothing some paint and carpet shampoo couldn't fix

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: The hotel bar, The Coral Room, is well worth a visit
Cons: Room security? A new coat of paint? Carpet shampooing?
Location: The British Museum as well as accessibility to an assortment of great restaurants
Perhaps it was the time of season, but our hotel room had quite a number of scuff marks on several walls as well as noticeable stains on the carpet leading to the bathroom. We also found out (through a notice posted in the elevator just for one day) that the gym was out-of-order for our entire stay. While these issues are minor annoyances, there's the unsettling possibility that I had money stolen from a secured bag tucked away in my zipped up rucksack. The total amount won't break the bank (200 SEK and $40 CDN), but I guarantee that these bills were in my bag through the check-in process to when the bags were dropped off in the actual room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Christmas Retreat

Posted Jan 5, 2018
The bar and restaurant in this hotel was amazing! Incredible decor and the drinks were exactly what you needed to retreat to after a busy day in London. The rooms were adequately sized for what you expect to pay in London and it had a nice comfy bed. The bathroom was exceptionally small and the hotel water was non existent which was the worst of the stay. When you’re dealing with snow and rain outside you really desire hot showers and not one of our days did we have any. We reported this to the staff who advised someone would come and fix however no one ever came.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stylish and classy hotel with amazing staff

Posted Dec 29, 2017
This was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The staff were amazing and were always helpful and polite. They came to collect our bags, gave us complimentary water when we left and made sure our room was available for early check in. They went out of their way to make our special occasion memorable, with treats and surprises in the room. We were blown away and would 100% recommend this hotel to our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Boutique hotel very conveniently located

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The location and the hotel staff
Cons: Bathroom could be a little bit wider!
Location: Theaters, Covent Garden, Museums, The London Silver Vaults
Really nice hotel conveniently located to Covent Garden and many places. The staff was really helpful and friendly. The standard room is a little bit small (especially the bathroom) otherwise it is extremely comfortable and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Upscale boutique hotel in great location!

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Small enough to make me feel important and valued, but big enough to provide the amenties, breakfast, private bars and quite nooks, and great location
Location: Walking distance to a million things to do (British Museum up the street), right off major subway stations, hubs, restaurants and shopping districts.
A wonderful hotel down a side street in London full of charm, impeccable service, and lush surroundings. The room was tailormade for business travelers looking for fast Internet access, multiple outlets with different country adaptors, a fluffy bed, fine sheets, and 24-hour staff available to help with any need. It's one of those rare hotels that manages to make me feel like I'm going "home" after a busy day of work and sightseeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA / Stuttgart, Germany

Almost Prrfect

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The hotel is quite centrally located (although the entrance seems oddly placed in a somewhat dingy alley), a charming facility, with impeccable staff and a wonderful restaurant, especially for afternoon tea. The one flaw in our visit is that the room (626) had practically a trickle of water in which to shower. When reporting the problem at check-out the staff simply said ‘we will look into it’ - no offer of some type of consideration - odd for an otherwise wonderful facility and something that certainly tainted the experience.
4 out of 5
by Christine

The Bloomsbury Hotel - 7 October 2017

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
I have to say I was rather disappointed by my experience at The Bloomsbury, certainly on arrival. I arrived at 4.15 pm rather stressed by an awful journey - I was delayed by 2 hours and in a hurry as I was hosting a big event that evening. My room wasn’t ready and although I was offered a complimentary glass of champagne while I waited, I couldn’t relax. I had to wait another 40 minutes for my room to be ready which put me even further behind schedule. Officially, check-in was from 2.00 pm. The room itself was nice although there were coffee stains on the carpet and the bath was chipped - overall the decor was rather tired. There was also a lot of building and refurbishment work going which was never mentioned either when I made the booking or in any of the booking reminders. The staff themselves were very kind and helpful and delightful to my family and me. I have stayed at other Doyle Collection Hotels and have done a lot of business with them professionally so I guess I expected better. Friends of mine were also staying at The Bloomsbury and after a long and stressful journey from the North, they simply wanted a drink in the bar. The bar was empty but they were told they had to make a reservation, and that all the tables were booked. Under duress, they were finally allowed to have ‘a quick drink’. They too have stayed at the hotel before and were rather disappointed. They hadn’t been advised of the building works either and were disturbed. Overall ok but not ideal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from us

awesome hotel in great London location

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: service
Cons: Tub/shower setup is dangerous. Tub is very narrow and slippery. There are no shower curtains and the wall is not large enough so water everyhwere
Location: bloomsbury is amazing and short walk to lots of places including westminster, theater district. Tube is close to hotel
Great hotel. Service was topnotch. Great location. Bar was fun to meet friends at and sit down for a drink. Restaurant is nice and food is good. Rooms were clean, but a bit small (one would expect this in London). Hotel has A/C so this is nice and wifi that absolutely works.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best place to stay in London.

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
We love the Bloomsbury and are always thrilled to come back for a stay. Wonderful as always!
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely boutique hotel in a perfect location a block from the British Museum.