Ratings based on 510 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Shona

Top Notch Stay

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
It was absolutely great from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Everyone was extremely friendly and attentive. My friend and I stayed for five nights and we were immediately greeted and asked if we would like tea/coffee. Then we were given a tour of the hotel and of our room which was perfect. They provided a converter for our electronics. It was a truly great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Charming hotel in a heart of London

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: comfort, cleanliness, service
Cons: It is an old hotel, but it is very charming.
Location: Great location. Next to British Museum, close to theaters and all attractions.
Comfortable and big room for European hotel. Big and clean bathroom. But most of all, great service. This was our second time in a Carnation hotel. We will look for those hotels when we travel.
5 out of 5
by Paula

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Cayle

Charming hotel, exceptional service

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
Really a wonderful stay at this charming London hotel. The staff were very warm and friendly, and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The rooms were lovely (if a tiny bit small), and the location was excellent. A big thank you to the late night staff who kept us company while we waited for the taxi for our early morning flight (4am!).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Lovely Hotel!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Everything! I felt like a character out of a BBC historical drama--just look at the outside facade!
Location: Right near the British Museum, and close to the Russel Square tube. Two buses stop just outside the hotel.
We stayed here for two nights and it was heavenly! Because our room wasn't ready (we were early) we were offered a cool drink and a pot of tea in the lobby. Because our Europe trip was in celebration of our daughter's high school graduation (and our travel agent mentioned this at booking), she arrived to her room to a lovely congratulatory message.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brussels

Very nice, cosy hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Nice and cosy place, just around the corner of the British Museum
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north west.

Disappointing.

Posted Jun 20, 2017
We have stayed at several hotels within this chain and have had enjoyable experiences, hence booked this for our short break in London. The hotel is ideally placed for the tube and Euston station, and the staff were very pleasant. Our complaint is in respect of the standard of hygiene in the dining area where we ate breakfast. The food items that are part of the continental selection, salmon, cooked meats, cheeses etc are placed on a wooden dresser without covers or any means of keeping them cool, as are the juices. We were unable to eat these items as flies were on them. I did point this out to a member of the waiting staff who promptly removed the plate and then brought back what appeared to be the same plate, and the flies were soon on them again. The hot food selection is also not covered and the food was dry. Better hotels we have stayed in have a covered chilled area to place cold foods and milk and juices on, and the hot foods are in containers which close if the lids are left open. The hotel needs to invest in some suitable equipment to ensure guests are not consuming food which could potentially cause illness because either flies have been on it or it has not been kept at the correct temperature.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Small room but well located

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Beautiful sun room, outstanding location
Cons: size of room?
Location: British museum, gardens
The room was tight but the hotel was beautiful and very conveniently located. Breakfast was very good. Staff were attentive