Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

nice and elegant

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: from expedia
Cons: price
Location: 5minutes walking to British museum and 15 minutes walking to China town and SOHO area. Original tours bus stop around it. nice area to stay .
happy stay and healthy breakfast and clean and comfortable room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The room I had was very nice if not a bit small, although that's expected a bit in London. The amenities were great and the staff friendly. I was only there one night but had a very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

A gem of a hotel in a great location!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
I loved this hotel. It's charming but has lots of modern touches to make your stay feel luxurious. The staff is wonderful. The beds, towels and robes are so comfortable and the afternoon tea is wonderful. There are many areas to sit and relax in the hotel including the fun beach bar. The location is terrific-right across from the British Museum and central to many sites. I can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Wow!

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Beautiful hotel in lovely area. Close to underground Piccadilly line. Great bar, restaurant and good although nice pubs nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Very nice hotel, staff were exceptional, location great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jerusalem

Lovely hotel near the British Museum.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
My experience at the Montague was generally very positive. The staff are friendly and efficient. I came back twice to the hotel in the late afternoon to find that the room had not been cleaned. I had to wait in the bar until it was cleaned. The location is ideal, near Russell Square tube station and within walking distance of British Museum and numerous charming restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Charming hotel in a heart of London

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: comfort, cleanliness, service
Cons: It is an old hotel, but it is very charming.
Location: Great location. Next to British Museum, close to theaters and all attractions.
Comfortable and big room for European hotel. Big and clean bathroom. But most of all, great service. This was our second time in a Carnation hotel. We will look for those hotels when we travel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Lovely Hotel!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Everything! I felt like a character out of a BBC historical drama--just look at the outside facade!
Location: Right near the British Museum, and close to the Russel Square tube. Two buses stop just outside the hotel.
We stayed here for two nights and it was heavenly! Because our room wasn't ready (we were early) we were offered a cool drink and a pot of tea in the lobby. Because our Europe trip was in celebration of our daughter's high school graduation (and our travel agent mentioned this at booking), she arrived to her room to a lovely congratulatory message.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brussels

Very nice, cosy hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Nice and cosy place, just around the corner of the British Museum
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north west.

Disappointing.

Posted Jun 20, 2017
We have stayed at several hotels within this chain and have had enjoyable experiences, hence booked this for our short break in London. The hotel is ideally placed for the tube and Euston station, and the staff were very pleasant. Our complaint is in respect of the standard of hygiene in the dining area where we ate breakfast. The food items that are part of the continental selection, salmon, cooked meats, cheeses etc are placed on a wooden dresser without covers or any means of keeping them cool, as are the juices. We were unable to eat these items as flies were on them. I did point this out to a member of the waiting staff who promptly removed the plate and then brought back what appeared to be the same plate, and the flies were soon on them again. The hot food selection is also not covered and the food was dry. Better hotels we have stayed in have a covered chilled area to place cold foods and milk and juices on, and the hot foods are in containers which close if the lids are left open. The hotel needs to invest in some suitable equipment to ensure guests are not consuming food which could potentially cause illness because either flies have been on it or it has not been kept at the correct temperature.