Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iceland

Cosy, warm,quiet old fashion hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, warm, good beds
Cons: Noise in floor boards
Location: British museum is next door. Oxford street for shopping close by
Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Everything done to make you happy. Room was very clean and well kept by houskeeping. Only fault was squeeking floor boards in our room and above when someone was moving around there. Breakfast was nice. Had dinner there also, some turkey. It needed a little touch in being not presented warm enough. Price was fair. Overall we were happy. Will return. Regards, Gisli and Kristin from Iceland
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deal, Kent

Long needed getaway in London

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Rare week-end away and decided to splash out on a "nice" hotel in London and be able to attend a mate's 50th. Took a while searching but found this lovely hotel at a great price. Even better than expected - from the door being opened they couldn't have been nicer. All have a shared aim to keep guests happy and add a personal touch which I usually cynical about but on this occasion was very genuine. Huge comfy bed. Fast room service. Great food. Brilliant bar. The only slight downside is the small bathroom and mirror area not good for women's stuff. And that we had to go out on the Sat night rather than spend time in the lovely room! Definitely planning to go there again. And finally, very central to get around London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Wonderful hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2017
wonderful hotel, always made to feel welcome by the staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from STL

Good location

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Across from the British Museum and short walk to the Russell Square tube station. Not inexpensive but very comfortable and comfortable room. Great bathroom. Extremely quiet with double glazed windows
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, Arizona

Posted Oct 30, 2017
We loved everything about this hotel. Friendly staff, great location and beautiful room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth the Splurge

Posted Oct 14, 2017
We LOVED this hotel. Very close to the museum and West End theatre district. Our first afternoon we walked out the front door and along the Thames and back. On our return we were greeted with a nice complimentary snack platter in our room. Just one of the ways the staff made us feel welcome and appreciated. After a long day of touring the city afternoon tea in the solarium was a welcome respite. Sure wish we had more time here to try out the live music in the elegantly appointed bar. As for the room: we got lucky with an upgrade. Though our room faced the street it was quiet. My husband and I agree the bed was the most comfortable we've ever slept in! If we are fortunate enough to return to London, we will be back here :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxfordshire

40th Birthday surprise

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I booked here as a surprise for my future wife’s birthday. We had the most amazing stay here. The staff are great, very friendly and genuinely interested in ensuring you have the best experience. They have us a free upgrade to a junior suite that was amazing. They all provided Claire with a birthday card signed by the GM, head chef and various other staff members along with a slate plate decorated in white chocolate with Happy 40th Birthday along with a selection of cookies and confectionary. I would highly recommend this hotel and will be sending an email to the GM thanking him for the excellent personal service that we received during our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Rooms small but Overall Great!

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good. The hotel also allowed us to leave our bags so that we could explore the city since our plane was leaving late that day.
Cons: Not much for gym facilities.
Location: British Museum is right there and definitely amazing. Close / walking distance to Buckingham palace.
The rooms are small, but I guess that's expected in London in most hotels. The breakfast was outstanding and the staff was great! Loved our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Hotel is fine. Typical for London - - rooms are small, rates are not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel! Great location and friendly staff

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Food and service was excellent. Our room was very small but fine for what we needed.