Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin, NZ

Good location and reasonable price

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Fantastic location
Cons: It needs a bit of a spruce up as the carpets, drapes etc feel a bit grubby. And the bed wasn't very comfortable.
Location: The British Museum is 5 minutes walk away. The Westy End is 15 minutes walk away. Leicester Square is 25 minutes walk away. It's all very close.
Everything at The President is functional, it could just use a bit of updating. The price I paid was good for a London hotel in such a good location. I walked or rode a Santander bike to all of the main sights, the Russell Square tube station is literally 2 minutes walk from the front door and there is a Santander bike stand opposite the tube station. There are plenty of places to eat as well as supermarkets nearby and I could walk back to the hotel after a West End show in 15 minutes. The breakfast wasn't anything great but as it was included I had it one of my 3 days but you could pay an extra 5 pound for a cooked breakfast if you wanted it. Some of the staff were extremely helpful but the check in process was a little old fashioned (I had to provide an "Expedia voucher", which I didn't have so I had to find an email and forward it). However, I booked it because it said the rooms had air conditioning but I couldn't find it in my room, luckily I didn't need it and the windows opened.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Inviting environment, friendly staff, convenient

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Location: British Museum, small grocery store and good food at the Greene King Museum Tavern
A most comfortable, clean room. Hotel very close to bus and tube at Russell Square. Breakfast tasty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Posted Jul 28, 2017
This a good hotel in a very good location. The breakfast was very good and filling and the staff were friendly. The rooms are a very good size and the beds are comfortable. The only downside to the hotel is the decor, it is very tired and I'm sure I had the same carpets in the 80's..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central location at reasonable rate

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: It's location.
Cons: Breakfast and its service.
The neighborhood offers a tube stop, Russell Square, lots of food choices, shopping at the Brunswick enter full of food, Waitrose Supermarket, all must a block away from the British Museum. Biggest disappointment for an otherwise good stay is the breakfast: poor meagre selections if you pay extra for the English breakfast and next to nothing to eat for the Continental. The service person told me "Go sit down" when I got up to ask for decaf coffee which they don't provide. They "lurk" rather than serve. So uncomfortable that I never ate there again during my stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria australia

Basic hotel good location

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Room basic no air con stuffy if you open window you get tragic noise main road , continental breakfast was toast and cereal plus juice, no fridge in room is safe,small double bed l fell out off.not the same as advertised toon amedities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff
Cons: Needs air conditioning - windows open to light well and there were lots of bangs and crashes from the kitchen downstairs - very noisy.
Location: Very close to the British Museum, Holborn and Covent Garden.
The hotel was in a great location for our planned activities in London. The included breakfast is simple but as expected. However, we had quite a noisy room and it was very warm, too warm some nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta

President Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Stay included continental breakfast (cereal & toast only). Hotel offers an upgrade to English breakfast, which was OK but all was overcooked.
Location: Great central location, within walking distance of most main areas.
Good location, 1 minute walk from tube station and withing 30 min walk of many attractions, spacious room, OK for the price paid.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very out dated. needs facelifting and renewal.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Time to renew.
Cons: Everything except the service.
No airconditioning in the heatwave, no ventilators too. Very outdated shower, Uneatable continental breakfast and undrinkable coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NovaWas

Convenient

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Not bad. Small. Close to many places of interest. Americans will suffer: no ac, tight area, tv barely works. The rest of the world will be fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Great location, Great value

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: There are places nearby to get a fresh cooked or fresh fruit and bakery goods for breakfast.
Cons: I had breakfast included but it was dismal. It was warmed eggs, toast, sausages, limited cereal selection and canned fruit.
Single room small but adequate. Location 3 blocks from British Museum, one block from Russel Sq underground on the Picadilly line which is direct from Heathrow. One stop on underground to Kings Cross which is the Eurostar terminal. Short ride to Paddington with one change. Many restaurants nearby as well as travelers amenities grocery, pharmacy. Staff helpful and courteous.