Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but noisy environment

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Room facing the entrance and pub below . Super noisy from the pub n travel buses. Poor room ventalisation. Only good thing is location very central
3 out of 5
by Buchet

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
To expensive for that!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Wotif
It is a budget accommodation literally. No A/C or even a fan. You have to ask from housekeeping for a fan if there's one. I can't say if it is value for money in my opinion.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient hotel. Location is good and the room was okay. The breakfast is basic. They charge 50p for luggage storage. Staff working there were not friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
room was overly warm .I was very surprised not to find any toiletries except soap in our bathroom, no shower gel ,shampoo or showercap. Staff were friendly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and good hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Basic hotel. Room was clean. Good value for money. Location is good for travelling around. Happy with my stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Hotel of last resort near Euston

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Great location. Patient staff.
Cons: Everything? Management MUST scale up the facilities like checkin and restaurant to match the scale of the hotel.
Location: Close to Euston.
If you get a "secret hotel" in London that's in a good location and a great price, be very very wary. As soon as I booked and got the name of the Royal National a couple of colleagues warned me about it. However, both of them said they stayed a while ago (and would never stay again) and I saw on the Expedia reviews that this hotel is undergoing renovation. On arrival the checkin line stretched across the lobby (maybe 20 people in line). There were only two staff on duty, and three other checkin stations that could have been opened. After a thirty minute wait in line two more people showed up and the line moved a little quicker. They have a very old-fashioned checkin procedure that's paper-based. I asked for a renovated room, and after a little begging I was given one. The "renovation" was just new carpets and wallpaper. The bathroom was still old-fashioned, the radiator had no thermostat and the room was like an oven. The window did not open and there's no A/C. I closed a couple of valves on the radiator and managed to shut it off. Room lighting was old fashioned and "jarring", old fashioned TV did not work. Breakfast included, but impossible to have it because the line into the restaurant stretched out into the lobby. The hotel is huge, but has a very "underpowered" checkin. The staff are very patient, and it must be awful working there because everyone I spoke to complained about the lines. No A/C in a hotel like this is unacceptable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is the only positive comment

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean the hotel
Location: Near underground stop, British Museum
I felt like I was staying in a frat house. There were so many 18-25 year olds staying here and they were so loud at night. The bed in my room was broken and the carpet was so dirty. The heat also was not working in my room. Location is good, but that's about it.