Ratings based on 973 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice rooms

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Nice hotel with a mid-range price. Sure there are some parts of this hotel that need upgrading but the room was great and I slept well. It’s also nice having a pub downstairs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
We love that it’s close to Yorkville and vegetarian restaurants are plentiful in this area
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel for the price

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Front desk employees at check in were not very welcoming. Room was okay. Lots of stains on carpet and the tub wasn't very clean. The bed was extremely hard. Staff were friendly at checkout. The room was fairly cheap and was in a good location for us otherwise I would not have been very happy.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Hotel room was clean and comfortable. Overall, hotel appeared tired and lobby was unwelcoming. Staff were friendly. Location was perfect for our visit but way overpriced; 5 star price for 3 star hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orono ON

Old Hotel Long Past its Prime

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
This old hotel is sadly in the need of an update. It's best feature is its location. Being in the heart of the Annex across from Koerner Hall and the Bata Museum, as well as across the street from the St. George subway station, it's well located. But the owners have not spent a dime on keeping the hotel up to date in the last 5 years. The hotel smells, the rooms are extremely dated, and the hallway carpets are worn. We overheard people in the lobby saying the owners are converting half of the hotel into condo suites. No problem there but we hope at the same time the rest of the hotel is renovated. If they do we'll be back, but not before.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nl

Only good thing about it is its location

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Dirty hotel, rude front desk staff, impossible to regulate temperature in room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Convenient to U of Toronto

Posted Nov 7, 2017
The hotel is very close to a subway station. The rooms are always clean, and the staff is always friendly and helpful. I have stayed here several times in the last three years. I have never had a problem with this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Ontario

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Location very convenient for my purpose. Close to U of T.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Canada

Not worth the charge

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Stained carpets everywhere, old and dated rooms, nothing in the rooms (no fridge, microwave), beds were ok. You are paying for location only. Staff were quick to help. Wouldn’t pay the same to stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Proximity to downtown
Location: Bata Shoe Museum, Royal Ontario Museum are nearby as well as easy access via subway to many shops at the Eaton Centre.
Experience was generally good. Staff were helpful and hotel was clean.