Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Perfect to stay the night not to stay during the day. Breakfast do not include eggs or other protein, just carbohydrates. Small room, reception close early, not too clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Caroline P, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our complimentary breakfast! Due to North Carolina's DHEC laws, we are not able to serve certain breakfast foods, but we work hard to bring in healthier options for our guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

hotel in Blowing Rock

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness
Location: very good fish chips @ the Town Tavern Restaurat
excellent staff, we are thankful for the great service and attention
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nc

Nice place but.......

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: close to downtown Blowing Rock for food and shopping
The overall property was clean and close to food and shopping. Unfortunately we had dogs in rooms on both sides of ours so we heard a lot of barking, late at night and early in the mornings. While the barking dogs were the responsibility of their owners it did impact the overall quality of our stay. We have stayed here before and never had a problem but this time it was frustrating to hear the dogs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Caroline P, Hotel Management
Larry, I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your latest trip to see us! While our 4-legged guests are a little bit more challenging to reason with than their 2-legged counterparts, we have the ability fix situations such as this if the problem arises. Please let us know in the future because we would never want something like this to effect the quality of your stay! And when you decide that you would like to return but do not want to risk being next to a barking dog, we would gladly welcome you at our sister property, the Ridgeway Inn. It's about a mile from Hillwinds and is not pet friendly so it is perfect for travelers that are allergic to pets are just do not want to be around them on vacation. Our inns are able to accommodate just about any need our guests have!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntersville, NC

Weekend Getaway

Posted Nov 26, 2017
I loved Hillwinds Inn! It’s such a cute and cozy place to stay in the mountains! Plus they’re dog friendly, which means extra points in my book. Would definitely stay there again😊
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Caroline P, Hotel Management
We love when we have 4-legged guests! And we love providing the option for pet parents to bring their pets with them since it can be so difficult travel when you have to find a pet-sitter or board them back home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Old but comfortable hotel.Bathroom is clean and has enough hot shower. Room temperature is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Caroline P, Quality Control Manager, Hotel Management
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I know it can be a little intimidating staying at a historic inn since you can never be sure what you're going to get, but we are constantly on the lookout for any renovations or updates that would benefit our guests. That way you can enjoy the historic beauty of the inn, without sacrificing any modern amenity!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of Blowing Rock

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Cons: keep up with cleaning the tables in the breakfast area
Right in the heart of Blowing Rock, we enjoyed our 2nd visit this year to Hillwinds Inn. Though it is right in the middle of things and was sold out, the room was quiet and we couldn't hear anyone else. Nicely appointed rooms for the size and price! We will be back again.
2 out of 5
by Patricia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Location -- room size
Cons: Better temp control
Only negative - room not able to cool down so made for an uncomfortable night sleep. I,m sure when not hot would be fine.,
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
It was nice place to stay at . Walking distance to beautiful downtown area. It was perfect. Will stay again .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Reception staff act d like we interrupted them by checking in. and out Asked for more coffee. They got it but then I waited while they got themselves a cup