Ratings based on 757 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan


Posted Sep 30, 2016
外観もフロントの対応も素晴らしい。私の選んだプランが設備共同利用で、そのシャワーもトイレも最悪。 普通であって欲しかった。 暖房設備も古く、寒かった。 ベットは清潔でいい。 朝食も歴史ある素敵なダイニングルームで美味しくいただいた。 トイレとシャワーを割りきれれば、非常に良い。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Townsville Qld

Grand Hotel in the Mountains

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff , lovely rooms, amazing furnishings and garden. The dining room and pianists were great.
Cons: We loved everything, including the ancient lift once we got used to it.
Location: Close to Hop on Hope off buses that take you to surrounding attractions.
If you love grand old hotels, friendly helpful staff, comfortable rooms and amazing surroundings, this is the place to stay. We had three perfect days in this wonderful place and it felt like we had stepped back in time but with all the modern day comforts. Our Colonial Room was comfortable as well as beautiful and we hope to return again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt, Germany

A wonderful journey to years past..

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Architecture, centrally located, great staff and a grand old lift similar to The Grand Budapest Hotel!
Location: Central, close to restaurants (although they close before 9PM in winter) and a short drive to Echo Point and The Three Sisters.
Beautiful views, décor and ambiance.. Grand old furnishings and atmosphere (including the swing music playing at breakfast). A must see and do..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Very unpleasent stay at Carrington hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Wotif
My partner and I were looking forward to this break. We checked in our room only to find out there was no tolilet or shower and had o use the public toilet and showers. The window was shaking everytine the wind blew. We told staff about these issues but they did not seem to care at all. The staff were actually very rude and unhelful. The service was bad and we found out atthere was no hot food for breakfast served . Well it was extra if you like bacon and eggs. We were very disappointed overall and would not recommend Carrington hotel to anyone .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney


Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Had the old world charm
Cons: reframe windows
Location: plenty of activities to do
Hotel - Had Charm condition old you expect that windows rattled all night could not sleep for $ 280 I felt this was over priced for a Sunday night, no restaurant open had to go eat at The Bank Brasserie next door Breakfast again for the price paid I would of expected at least something hot on the menu but no if you wanted hot food it had to be paid for on top of your accommodation. I would not recommend staying I would definitely look elsewhere in future
4 out of 5
by Bruce

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant, relaxing stay
4 out of 5
by John from Sydney

Pity about the staff in the restaurant

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very poor service in the restaurant room was ok but the shower was way too small. Staff probably cam from the local hospitality training college and they needed another 3 years of focussed training.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
As always, the Carrington was a delight with great service and lots of places to escape to for a quiet read.
4 out of 5
by Innes from Sydney

Fab olde worlde 1900's charm

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Last minute one night stay in this fabulous deco style hotel. Also was Xmas in July which added to the flavour of olde worlde charm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good location, near to public transport.

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location. Friendly staff. Breakfast buffet. Comfy beds.
Cons: Minor repairs seen to as I'm sure previous occupants would have reported them.
Location: Main Street in Katoomba. Bus from right outside hotel to Three Sisters and most Tourist attractions.
Booked this hotel at the last minute due to great reports about it. It's very tired looking in afew areas and not very well aired, very stuffy would be the description. The room seemed alright but then encountered a couple of problems. The spa bath didn't work properly and soaked the bathroom once it was started. The window rattled very badly. Worst thing was the lift not working when we were leaving. It's very old and even although it was recently updated it didn't feel very safe and was a bit tricky to operate. Wi Fi wasn't too great and we had to call down to reception to make enquirers about it.