Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Shabby hotel in need of updates

Posted May 6, 2017
The staff here are very nice, but the hotel rooms and bathrooms are in need of some serious updates. The room itself was very small, which wasn't terrible, but the bed was very uncomfortable and the walls are paper thin. Don't plan on sleeping in past 7:00am, because you will hear everything in the hotel. The bathroom was atrocious - mold in the shower, a barely functioning toilet, and the glass guard of the shower wasn't attached to the tub all the way (a serious safety hazard). I would not recommend staying here if you have another option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 5, 2017
Hotel is very old and in need of refurbishing and breakfast was cheap products also run out of a few items
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Worst hotel we have stayed in, false advertising

Posted Apr 22, 2017
So walking into the reception it looked lovely, the reception was very welcoming and filled us with hope as it was our last two nights in beautiful Scotland. Once we checked in we booked for dinner and made our way to the room, going up the stairs the carpet was all ripped but that wasn't too much of a problem it just said to me they get used a lot. Once we entered the room we were hit with the smell of cigarette smoke (it's a non smoking hotel), and on first impression it didn't look anything like the classic double room on the website, it was quite grotty. The bathroom was also run down. So anyway we thought we would make the best of a bad situation and my girlfriend had a shower to get ready for dinner. Well even the glass shower screen wouldn't close as it hadn't been fitted with the bath handles in mind so Water went all over the cracked bathroom floor. So we went down for dinner only to be told there wasn't a table in the restaurant and only the bar so we went into the bar and had some average food whilst listening to a very roudy lady in the bar be aggressive to some locals (this obviously wasn't the hotels fault). Anyway to cut a long story short after complaining to the hotel about the awful room including peeling paint, cracked bathroom floor tiles, cobwebs on lamps, we were offered a cup of tea on the house (which we declined) and decided we would arrange for alternative accommodation the next night. Long story short awful hotel and still fighting for a refund.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayr, Scotland

A pleasant comfortable break

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The peace and tranquility above all. Very relaxing and homely place to stay.
Cons: Perhaps 2 chairs in bedroom instead of 1. No real complaints.
Location: Hotel is ideally situated for all seasonal activities such as hill walking, bird watching, sailing, photography, sketching, etc.
Very impressed with reception received on arrival. Enjoyed excellent food with with attentive service. Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. No hesitation in recommending this establishment to friends and fellow travelers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north east scotland.

Great traditional Scottish hotel close to aviemore

Posted Dec 5, 2016
A great hotel close to aviemore with amazing views to the Cairngorms. A great place for a base for hillwalking, or any other outdoor pursuits. Also right next door to the boat of Garten steam railway station. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was extremely tasty and huge portions!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing, worn and smelly room

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Welcoming reception area. Room was on 2nd floor. First flight of stairs fine, second had old carpet with splits on the tread and dangerous section with exposed gripper nails. Room along a long corridor with different levels and patched carpet. On opening the door we were hit with the smell of fried food. Room overlooked the kitchen, bins and car park. Window was closed but the smell from the kitchen chimney was coming through the bathroom vent. Room very old fashioned, faded and worn carpet, distressed melamine furniture, stained curtains and walls. A big old heavy damaged armchair blocked the area with the tea tray. Had to request a chair for the dressing table/desk area. Bathroom floor tiles were badly cracked and there was staining on the walls. Plenty of hot water but it came out of the shower scalding then icy cold. Hair dryer made blue flashes when it was turned on or off, noticed that the electrical testing was two months overdue. The bed was new and comfortable and the towels and bedding were clean. Breakfast was good and efficient the first day, though we were given a table on a platform by the door where the carpet was covered in slug/snail trails. Second day we had to wait a long time to order and for bread and coffee to be provided in the buffet. The servers could have done with extra help. Altogether a miserable stay. We were completely taken in by the website photographs but will not make the same mistake again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel poor food

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay but disappointed with the food in the restaurant. They seem to make up there own ingredients for the dishes no wiskey' in sight . But it did have a drying room for wet clothes
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location and service

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great friendly service from receptionist, great room. Didn't eat there.