Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama, Panama

Nice hotel and awesome staff. 100% recommended.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I didn't have the best experience but it was due to weather conditions, there was a bad time over Boca Chica for 5 days so I had to stay in the room all day long.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

What an amazing experience

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The staff, the lay-out, the grounds, the food, my room that atmosphere
Location: I took the island tour with snorkeling that the hotel offers and I rented a car and took the drive to Boquete.
From the beginning to the end, my stay at Hotel Bocas del Mar was absolutely wonderful. Everything about my stay was wonderful. The staff was awesome and so welcoming. My room was wonderful. The food was very good. The tour I took was great! The massage in the spa house sitting at the waters edge where I could hear the waves crashing against the shore during my massage was like listening to natures own music! I don't have one complaint about my stay other than, I forgot to get coffee from the hotel before I left!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Valley, NJ

Beautiful!

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Private and quiet with beautiful grounds.
Cons: Mattress was hard.
Spent a lovely evening and next day by the pool at Bocas del Mar. An out of the way place, but worth it! Staff were very accommodating and attentive. Private bungalows were clean and roomy with lovely views of the grounds and water. Nice breakfast with fresh fruit and juice. Only complaint is that the mattress was quite hard. Other than that, would definitely visit again if we are ever in Panama!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Wonderful place to relax

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Almost everything. Each room has an outdoor terrace with porch furniture.
Cons: The rooms are large and comfortable, but the seating is limited and the lighting inadequate for reading.
Location: Great water tours in the area.
This hotel was our favorite place during a vacation in Panama. The location is exquisite -- on the ocean with views of endless islands. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and every room seems to have water views. Two pools surrounded by lounge chairs are available. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate every request. It is particularly helpful in arranging excursions to nearby beaches and other places. The food and service at the restaurant are good enough so that one need not go elsewhere. A real treat for the body and soul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, grat view of the bay Panama

Posted Nov 12, 2015
I have stayed at this hotel before,the location is great but the hotel is th dying need of a remodeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the water, but no beach

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: Add cool water when the pool is hitting 35C
Location: There is nothing to do within 2 hours
The hotel staff here are great. The place is very clean and pleasant. This place is remote so you will have to have all of your meals there. The staff is excellent and ready to please. Definitely have a boat take you to the outer islands for the day and hang out on one of the remote beaches. My wife and I thought we were on Gilligan's island as we spent the day on a nice remote beach without anyone to bother us. My only regret is that the place did not have a beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beautiful views of the islands.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Quite
Cons: No not clean eating areas during regular meal times.
We only had time to stay one night but we were really glad we did. We also used them for a snorkel and islands tour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colon

Beautiful location and very good servce

Posted Mar 10, 2015
We had a great time at the hotel, very friendly staff and beautiful location. The place has a very relaxing atmosphere, nice garden and pool areas and there are tours you can take to the beaches on the nearby islands or enjoy a relaxing massage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greater Philadelphia area

beautiful place with very friendly staff

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Beautiful clean rooms, friendly attentive staff and management, incredible views and excursions, excellent food, and pools
Cons: Rental charge for kayaks (although cheap) seemed a bit odd. Have stayed other places without fees / just check in and out. Minor point!
Location: Beautiful grounds and views from the rooms + infinity pools. short kayak or boat trip to sandy beaches.
Stayed a week at Bocas del Mar. Staff was amazing from the get-go - we ended up driving down from Panama City (about 7 hours with roadwork, seems like that will be finishing in 2015 ) and the Bocas staff sent us great driving directions and also waited up til around 1 AM to welcome us to our room. Many English speaking folks to help with adventure planning. The managers were awesome and attentive, checking in with us at every meal to make sure we had everything we needed or they could help with anything further. Food and drinks were excellent and excursions on the hotel's boats / kayaks were fantastic - new boats, friendly captains and a gorgeous marine park to explore. Can't complain about a single thing, if you want to stay near Boca Chica / the golf of chiriqui marine park this is a great place to go, the standards seem much higher than nearby options and we're really glad we chose this one. Will definitely be back sometime down the road!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pacific nw

Boca Chica Retreat

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Less than an hour from David even with construction on the Pan American. Beautiful setting. Fabulous boat excursion offered