Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Awesome place and friendly hosts

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: everything. Forgot to mention the dinner as well as the great breakfast next to a feeding place with birds and coatis.
Location: paddling with some canoes on a small pond, getting lost in the woods on the trail (take the loop clockwise ...), the tours.
a great place to start a Costa Rican trip. The staff was goingfor any extra mile and made the stay very easy and enjoyable. One tour is included in the price - best is to take the morning bird watching tour.Jose, our guide, was incredible and not only spotted birds and reptils from far away, he even could immediately tell what bird it is half a mile away. During the night walk we saw some frogs, some aguiti and the red-eyed dart frog. And both times we could feel that the guides loved there profession. Definitelya place to visit again - a must go!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolles Fotoshooting der Voegel!

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
Tolles Erlebis am San Carlos River. Schoene Lodge mit tollem Fotoshooting der Voegel!
5 out of 5
by Johan from Sweden

Fabulous lodge, off the beaten track

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
We choose between Tortuguero and Maquenque, and having been to lodges in Tortuguero before we choose the latter. Very satisfied, thought it was a completely different experience from the very touristy Tortuguero. The drive up is an adventure itself, bumping through a lovely rural part of the country that don't see much tourism. Excellent tours and guides on offer and all the personell at the lodge put an emphasis on making sure everyone has a good time. Food is top class and lodges very comfortable. From the porch of your cabin you have a lovely view of the lagoon with a lot of wildlife around. We stayed 3 nights and loved it. Definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Very unique place, 100 percent nature, great staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sachsen

Natur und Erholung pur, Top für Familien

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: einfach alles
Cons: ein kleiner Kühlschrank im Bungalow wäre top
Location: wandern im Regenwald, gleich hintem Bungalow, schwimmen im tropischen Pool, reiten, Bootstouren Richtung Nicaragua, Spaziergänge im großen, Kanu
Wir besuchten die Maquenque Lodge am Anfang unseres 4wöchigen Costa Ricas Urlaub (mit unserer kleinen Tochter). Da es uns so super gefiel, kamen wir am Ende noch mal an diesen wunderschönen grünen Ort auf dieser Erde. Ruhe, Gemütlichkeit und trotzdem die Möglichkeit für ausgedehnte Trekkingstouren durch tierreichen Regenwald. Mit Guide und ohne möglich. Tolles Relaxen auf großer Terasse vor dem Balkon und mit etwas Glück ein Blick auf eine Wasserschildkröte oder einen Kaiman. Schwimmen im Pool und paddeln wann immer man möchte > Tiere sind immer zu entdecken. Einfach ein ganz ganz toller Ort mit super netten und sehr hilfsbreitem einheimischen Personal. achja: beim zweiten Aufenthalt genossen wir das Dinner ... sehr empfehlenswert!!! ;)
4 out of 5
by lars

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sachsen Anhalt

Tolles Hotel in einmaliger Natur!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Wir haben in dieser Lodge 2 Nächte verbracht. Uns haben besonders die Kanufahrten in der Lagune gefallen.
4 out of 5
by Jan-Paul van den Bosch from Rotterdam (NL)

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful spot in the rainforest. Worth the drive from the main road tot the lodge. Staff is very friendly and helpful, they really want to make this eco-lodge a big succes. Planting your own tree is a nice extra (for free). Take note that the lodge is on the other side of the river, you have to leave your car at the other side (save). This makes the place very special but is a thing you want to know. It is one of the most special places we have seen in CR!
5 out of 5
by Felix from München, Bayen

Wunderschöne Lodge im Urwald

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Einmalige Lage, sehr freundliches & hilfsbereites Personal.
Cons: Alles war perfekt.
Location: Im Urwald am Ufer des Rio San Carlos ca. 20 km südlich der Grenze zu Nicaragua
Wir (2 Erwachsene und Kinder mit 7 und 9 Jahren) haben drei Tage in der Maquenque Eco Lodge verbracht. Wir waren gegen Ende der Trockenzeit dort. Die Lodge grenzt wirklich direkt an den Urwald. Große Tiervielfalt für jeden zu sehen: Tukane, Aras, Kaimane, Brüllaffen etc. Es war ein einmaliges Erlebnis!
5 out of 5
by Prinnies from Loosdrecht

Hoogtepunt van onze reis

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels
Wat een geweldige plek. Midden in de natuur, de kaaimannen liggen voor je deur, de vogels vliegen over je heen en de apen hangen boven je in de bomen. Comfortabel en superschoon huisje, fantastische service, leerzame en leuke tours met deskundige en aardige gidsen. Lekker eten. En ver weg van de standaard toeristische plekken. De geluiden van de jungle hier in Maquenque zullen we nooit vergeten. Hoogtepunt van onze reis!