Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Caribe a nice experience

Posted Oct 9, 2017
wonderfull hotel for the rate , just stay away from the beach to many people selling local artesanies
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles California

Nice location close to restaurants and shops

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Clean and beautiful I like the pool area and the restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Good location with charm

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable and secure feeling.
Cons: Front desk staff
Location: Beaches, shopping, restaurant, excursions away from the hotel, museums, fortress and historical buildings
The hotel was built before the typical hotels built today - and had a nice colonial feel to it. The grounds, pool and other public areas are well maintained. It was fun watching the sloths in the trees, and the several small deer roam the grounds without any fear of guests. It's in a good location - with a beach across the street. The only negative was the arrival process. We were part of a tour group of about 30 - staying 3 nights. The hotel had been booked months earlier - yet the front desk staff was completely disorganized and confused about room assignments, etc. It took about 2 hours for everyone to check in - when it is more common for this group to be checked in and have their room keys within minutes. The front desk staff acted like they had never had a group of 30 (with reservations) arrive before.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Carina García, Pr Manager, Hotel Management
Dear John, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the Expedia community. We are glad to read you have had an extraordinary experience with the animals, the different areas and the facilities in our property. During your check in, another big group was entering and a sport delegation was having its check out. I apologize for the inconveniences it may cause. It's a shame you miss the avaliabitity and the great service offer by our staff. We will be waiting for your next trip to Cartagena.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Very nice hotel close to the beaches, friendly people with extremely Cortesy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Carina García, Pr Manager, Hotel Management
Dear anonymous, Thank you for your nice comment. Our staff is our most important asset.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Hotel Experience Was a Complete Nightmare

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: live animals family environment
Cons: faceilities and WI FI
Location: good location
Our stay at the Hotel Caribe was a complete nightmare. We were given a room at the thrid floor, but our first surprise is that the hotel has no elevator. So next day we camplained and were given a room downstairs but we soon realized it was old and falling down. WI FI was terrible so we could not connect as it failed every ten minutes. But the worst was still going to come. I was taking a shower and the complete shower felt down and our room started to get flooded very fast. After rescuing our belongings with almost no help from the hotel staff, we were assigned a new room. As we moved to the new room I forgot to double check our belongings to see if something was left in the safety deposit box in the flooded room as it was like a swimming pool and access was very difficult. Later when we were more calm, my wife realized she is missing a diamond ring that was left in the flooded room safety deposit box. We complained to the hotel and were given no response so far
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lima

Hotel Caribe, a nice place to stay in Cartagena

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Many areas for relaxing: under the sun, the shade, by the pool, the kiddie pool, the gardens, by the birds, the bar, in Air/C, chess area. Good WiFi.
Cons: DON'T accept the tour boat by TRIVI TOURS: packed like sardines in boat CocyCocy; motor problems, at the end they did not return us to the hotel BAD !
Location: Not much close by. The walled city is only 8 min. by taxi, US$3 (7,000 pesos). Nice & quiet. Nearby pharmacy, beers, jogging path, river walk, safe.
The food was very good and varied. The pizzas were great! Extensive buffets. We did not go hungry. After a hearty breakfast we were ready to take on the city before the sweltering heat. In the city there are plenty of restaurants, but we often just headed back to the hotel and ate there because it was good and very clean. We did not manage to try the sushi bar, it opens at 5 pm. On a couple of days we went to the walled city in the morning, back to the hotel to freshen up, then back to town in the afternoon (it's only $3 by cab). The hotel's exchange rate was actually not too bad, unlike almost all hotels. All the prices are in Colombian pesos, so take your calculator! The exchange rate is about $2,700 per US$1, yep, they use the same symbol as the US$, so a beer costs $3,000 ha ha ha. The workers were all pleasant and smiling, all very polite. Advice: the hotel gives each guest a welcome cocktail coupon, it's a pain to get the drinks. You can also use it to get a 20% discount on the sushi bar. Use it or lose it ! Don't accept the Trivi Tour boat trip to Barú Playa beach. You are better of taking a 40 min. taxi ride. The beach is full of hawkers selling their stuff, no peace or quiet. The exotic fish snorkeling tour is really nice/all full of colored & exotic fishes. The hotel gardens have 4 or 5 baby deer wandering about, they walk right past you. Also several parrots. Be sure to use mosquito repellent. Lots of cable channels, but it's dubbed in Spanish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte North Carolina USA

Perfect location

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff, the breakfast buffets, the attention to detail.
Cartagena is one of my favorite places in the world to visit. And El Caribe made the experience even better. The staff was superb, the grounds were excellent, from the gardens to the parrots to the miniature deer family to the toucan was a wonder. If you want an excellent place to stay, you can do no better than El Caribe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The room was spacious and clean. We really liked that it had 2 queen sized beds which we were able to put together. It made it easier to accommodate sleeping arrangements with two children. Showers had plently of water pressure and very hot water. I liked that the pool closed after dark, which made swiming after sunset a lot of fun. But the best feature of the hotel is that the restaurant, which is poolside, is open 24 hours; and at dinner time, they start the wood burning pizza oven. The kitcen is impeccably clean, and the kitchen staff is gracious and attentive. We ate most of our meals at the hotel. You can eat indoor by the pool, where it's nicely air conditioned, or poolside in the shade, or in full sunlight. Selection and quality of food was excellent. They have a tennis court which can substitute for a half court soccer field, and a small playground with swings. The athletic director spent time teaching our children soccer. Front desk staff was very professional and accommodated all our requests. We had a great time, and would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by judy

Loved it

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, excellent pool

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Cons: Reception needs a little improvement. Reception is the first impression, they should be more courteous. The pool should have more umbrellas for shade.
Nice pool for adults and children. Good family hotel.