Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Old Nasty Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Air Conditioner did not work I found roaches in my room Elevators did not work Phone did not work Dirty old rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great staff, next to the beach, good food.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
I read not very good reviews about the hotel before I booked it so I only booked it for 2 night out of the 4 I was going to be there for. I wanted to check it out first. They had a lot of staff members around, all doing something. Security at the front and back door 24/7. The housekeeping was taking great care of the room, probably better then any hotel I have stained before. It is for sure outdated but the service was great in all departments. The elevators run good, no issues at all. The water pressure was also totally fine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice vacation

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Very good Bocagrande location ! practically on the beach, the other side is a shopping street with restaurants, a flee market, plus a new mall and casino in the next block. Only 5 minutes cab drive from the historic walled in city and the cabs are inexpensive. The room was simple, but good. The view is great since it is an octagon building on this peninsula surrounded with the Caribbean Sea. Some other former guests criticized the elevators, but I have had no problems with them at all. Short waiting at times is normal for this size of a hotel. I have taken the All Inclusive option. Breakfast, lunch and dinner from a buffet, not exclusive but very good, fresh and wide selection ! ( I guess I missed dining out elsewhere, but sure saved a lot ! ) Much enjoyed staying there. Would consider to book it again if coming back to Cartagena
1 out of 5
by Luis

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
The room was really simple and clean, all building really old and no fuctining!!! The elevator were really in bad condition everyday was one of the out of service, air conditioning not working properly
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
They don't timely process reservations made through internet so on your arrival you cannot be sure that your room will be available, even if you have reservation number and all that stuff that Expedia send.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicag

Customer service ruins it. Pros vs Cons

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location: Food
Cons: Customer service, and hotel updates. The elevators were extremely slow, literally took us half an hour to get down to the main floor from the 9th.
Location: Cartagena plaza, CHIVA
Pros: Location: The Dorado Plaza is located South of the Bacaraton Strip, the location is pretty convenient and felt safe. The beach is in front of the hotel and there is a grocery store and pharmacy directly behind the hotel. It has 2 pools, a bar, one computer for internet & they have dance shows every night. There is a night club in the hotel, but it is pretty lame. Small not a variety of drinks at bar, but hey its free. Area: Cartagena Plaza and restaurants are all within walking distance. Food: This is all inclusive, including drinks and the food is very good. Breakfast is from 0700 to 1000 * get there early if you want good food, they stop putting out food 1 hour before close. Lunch is 1300-1500 and dinner 1900-2200 , I did not get sick once! There is filtered water throughout hotel, so bring a water canister. Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!! AND OUTDATED HOTEL. When we arrived at 5pm it took then an hour to get my room ready. Check in was 3pm. They made us wait and took forever. They did not accommodate my kids in a close room as requested on expedia. They also downgraded my room to standard when I had a superior room . They blamed expedia , I had to fight for a bigger room, which i had paid for. They did not care ! elevators broke down or were super slow. Only one computer in hotel, which sucks when you need to look at flights or important data. Front desk is very rude and cold.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paterson, NJ

Nice location but needs a little work

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: Water pressure, air conditioning.
Location: Shopping, good restaurants, casinos.
The hotel is located near restaurants, casinos, and shopping centers. However, there was very little water pressure and the air conditioner was not cool enough and could not be adjusted.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sc

Very old bad shape .smels

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Good food. Good service, Hotel is in very bad shape ,inside and out.floor 9 and 7 real bad shape if u book this hotel ask for other floors.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

horrible. el aire acondicionado no servio.

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: no lo recomiendo
Cons: deberian remodeler todo.
pesimo el servicio de mantenimiento. el aire no sirve en los curators. no lo recomiendo, ni regreso.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Correct

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Room very clean
Cons: Elevator!!
Location: Good location
Hotel staff nedd to be more actif. Hotel is near most facilities, good location and in front of the beach.