Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with wonderful employees

Posted Jul 13, 2017
i have had a fabulous time at the playa tortuga. The facilities are great. The rooms are great. The location is great. But the people who work here are the best of all. Jonella and cissie in particular. would come back here in a minute.
4 out of 5
by Sara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Like location but???

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The staff is rude, specially the restaurant you have to look for a waiter to get service. Food is pricey. I always to downtown to eat food was much better. I recommend bocas del Toro but consider other hotels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent view but needs some improvement

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Services were great and staff were supportive, friendly and helpful. Excellent ocean view on the third floor and very comfortable with the suite. However, I would recommend improving the following situations: The shower's hot water are not steady, it was sporadic and I had to be careful not be burned with the surge of hot water or be cold with just the cold water. The AC air flow had minor issues and the phone didn't work. No tissue box anywhere. I didn't complain to the Hotel though since I can cope with it. In hindsight, may be I should and the hotel can make improvement!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best hotel in Bocas

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights. This is THE very best hotel in all of Bocas. It is just outside the city center with a free shuttle service. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, with A/C and ocean views. There's also a restaurant with breakfast, lunch and dinner. This is a resort and includes a beautiful pool and sunbathing area as well as a private beach. My only suggestion for improvement would be to better insulate the walls as there was sometimes TV noise from the adjacent room.
1 out of 5
by diane

Beware of credit card fraud at this property!!!!!!

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
When we checked into this hotel they took an imprint of my credit card. About two days later someone was internet shopping with my card for $3000.00 of goods. My card was then frozen by my credit card company which inconvenienced me for the rest of my trip an I had no access to its use. I think you should remove this hotel from Hotels.com. I would never recommend it to anyone. The food and drinks were bad too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Great pool

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Beach only for looking, but great pool! In general, things r a bit run down, but great breakfast and wonderful staff! Rooms could use better lighting.
5 out of 5
by MARIO

Amazing time in Isla Colon/Playa Tortuga

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely recommended place for either couple of family. Close from downtown where you can find stores, restaurants, etc
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Excellent beach location, five minutes from Town

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Excellent service by all Staff members in all areas. Beautiful beach location with no traffic noise wahtsover - just the sound of the waves.
Cons: The rooms are in serious need of upgrading and renovating
We shall not stay here again , not because of the service as that was excellent and everyone was very friendly. The main problem was that our room was very 'tired' and in serious need of upgrading and renovating. Certainly, for the price we paid, we expected much more. The bathroom was a shambles with the sink not draining, the toilet pipes coming away from their wall fixture and, during our last night, leaking and flooding the floor. The pre-arranged Hotel bus did not pick us up at the airport, on our arrival but our taxis fare was re-imbursed at the hotel with a complimentary bottle of wine. Again, the Staff were excellent but I don't think we can be enticed back there for our next visit to Bocas del Toro in three months time.
1 out of 5
by orel

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Room smells dirty