Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

You're missing boat Reg Frog

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous property with views and investment opportunities. The Restaurant!!!!
Cons: A better trained staff. Try not to look so bored. Activities on the beach and water.
Location: Hire a private boat, usually $150 for all day. Go bar hopping, travel around the islands and visit the beaches. Not much to do in town.
This property could be and should be the king of resorts in the Boca Del Toro's. Unfortunately, the staff as nice as they are poorly trained. I realize it's the island life and you live in the land of the slothes, but that doesn't mean the staff have to ressemble one, does it? If you don't ask they may not inform you. So ask every question you can think of. There are very few activitives. This area is perfect for jet ski's, paddle boards, kayaks, etc... Of course the Red Frog does not offer it. It's a big island, but most of the beaches you have to reach by boat. They have golf carts for their rough terrain, so get ready to be bounced around like a rag doll. If you back issues, do not come to this area. Best thing that the Frog has to offer is it's restaurant run and operated Jeff an American. Someone who gets the quality of food and service will back or break the repeat of business. People come from other smaller resorts to enjoy his food, his service and his company. The Frog got this one right. Now please train the rest of your staff. I would love to invest in different activities so the partons could enjoy their stay better. One suggestion, greet your partons on the dock with a welcome beverage. A small gesture goes a long way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by B, Hotel Management
Dear Cheeto, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will work to improve every area. Regards, Bertha Calvo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was azmaing and would recommend staying at the resort to any one traveling to the islands.
4 out of 5
by Margaret

A Beautiful Island

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
The jungle villa is definitely rustic, so if you want more elegance, choose one of the villas. The staff was very accommodating but I would recommend setting up your own tours as we found the arrangements better when made by ourselves. The resort could use some updating but it was still charming and lovely. We would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Amazing hotel resort in the middle of the paradise

Posted Apr 17, 2017
I have not the right words for that great hotel resort and experience in the middle of the nature. Great service, nice people. Everything went very well. Thanks for made that vacation that special for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice roomy clean villas.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Great resort for families with individual villas/pool and amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Contemporary villas in the island wilderness

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Clean room and facilities, nice jungle grounds, and a contrast of perfect villas and jungle-safari like transportation to and within the resort.
Cons: We felt safe while there, but when we left we learned......
This is a secluded resort with villas and bungalows connected by bumpy gravel roads. The reception is 15 min boat ride from Isla Colon, island where the airport is. During our stay the boat transfer was free mot of the day, as there were some issue with water supply at the resort. We were informed in a timely manner prior to our arrival that our accommodation will change from the bungalow on the top of the hill to a room in the villa a bit closer to the beach. The room and the villa were beautiful, with a great view of the beach, Caribbean and a small island just in front of the beach, which had a sign "for sale". Small diesel trucks were used to transport us to the reception, or the breakfast restaurant on the beach. The would come promptly and drive us like you are on the safari. It was fun, fortunately I already passed my kidney stones prior to this vacation. LOL. Due to this water problem restaurant was opened for breakfast only, so for food we ventured to Bocas del Toro little town as well as to 2 local bars at 2 hostels on the Bastimentos island which were serving very decent food and drinks really cheap. The weather was decent, not too much sun, so we could walk during the day and sit on the beach. It was windy and surf was high, so swimming wasn't an option. Our private villa infinity pool was an excellent replacement. There was a lot of construction going on within the resort and a lot of trucks and workers moving around. We felt safe to walk around the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Beautiful resort with excellent staff!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We had such a wonderful stay...the surroundings were fantastic, from flora and fauna to the beautiful beaches! the staff is absolutely wonderful and our villa was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful villas with excellent views

Posted Jan 8, 2017
By far one of the most beautiful places I have been. This reminds me of Hawaii about 35 years ago before it was so commercialized. The villas are magnificent and many have wonderful views of the beach. We loved Turtle Beach and Punta Lava restaurant which has delicious Pina Coladas and the best ceviche I've ever eaten. The manager, Jorge, was exceptional and made us feel very welcome and made sure we had everything we needed as well as his staff. The property is still under construction and will soon have an awesome beach club on Turtle Beach which I cannot wait to see when it's finished. The paths around the islands are not paved in some spots but I'm sure that's because they are still building villas and other structures. The villas all have paved pathways out of brick so they are very smooth to ride on in your golf cart which I recommend unless you just want to walk everywhere. If you can afford a villa instead of a jungle bungalow, I would definitely do that because of the privacy and you have your own pool at each villa. The zip line tour was also a blast. The only slightly negative would be their massage therapist needs to be better skilled. I've had hundreds of massages and this ranked at the bottom. More education can help there, however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The tranquility, beauty, villas, nature, and staff. It is a great get-away from a typical Caribbean resort with over-development and throngs of people
Location: Swimming, snorkeling, surfing, walking, observing nature, fishing, boat tours, yoga, spa, kayaking, mountain biking, zip-lining, and dolphin tours.
Very caring, helpful, and friendly people that want only the best vacation experience for guests. I very much appreciated their genuine concern and interest for me when I accidentally hurt myself. The villa and view was exceptional. Top notch accommodations. Not too crowded. A true escape. Beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing. The private beach was super nice. The chocolate farm (locally owned) tour and private cooking lesson on the island was definitely a high point for my older kids. They learned a lot about native plants and trees, harvesting and preparing cocoa beans, coffee beans, cinnamon, turmeric, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

This place is truly amazing. Great food, Great bea

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Pure luxury in a jungle beach location. Super great staff as well.
Cons: There was nothing to dislike. It exceeded all my expectations.
Location: Beaches, snorkling, bat caves and on and on.