Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Big big breakfast

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Poor tv in room Couldn't dine booked up Noisy party on Otherwise ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridgend

Quaint hotel and a good base for exploring.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The room met my needs perfectly. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Being set in a hamlet with a rural setting I had peaceful night's sleep. It was a good location as a base for exploring Cornwall. Food was excellent and breakfast set me up for the day. Plenty of parking space for the car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ENGLAND

VERY GOOD

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING.
Cons: NOTHING REALLY
Location: The location was rather remote, but saying that it was so quiet and peaceful.
We arrived on SUNDAY evening quick check in we were shown to our room by a pleasant young man the room was very spacious and very clean the beds were very comfortable. We down stairs to the restaurant ( where the carvary was still been served) we enjoyed the meal. The breakfast was also very good served by a lovely young lady. Overall if we go back to this area again we will go back to THE COUNTRYMAN.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely place

Posted Jul 31, 2017
This b and b is a lovely place to stay. Clean and friendly staff. Food was nice quite big portions. Its out the way in the country so lovely scenery. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Quiet, out-of-town hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Location ideal, really pleasant, helpful staff & meals fantastic, both for quality & content.
Cons: Creaky beds!
Location: Close by Launceston Steam Railway.
Just four miles North of Launceston, ample parking & restaurant & bar available.
3 out of 5
by Jayne

Don't stay in room 5

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Don't book room 5 it's very noisy with the kitchen underneath and the cleaning room next door. Doors banging and the fan from the kitchen is outside the window and on from 730am - 11pm. The shower was dodgy and special instructions given on how to get hot water as waiting on plumber. The main meal was lovely but the breakfast is nothing to write home about. Service at breakfast is slow. Would stay again but definitely not in room 5. Staff helpful although noisy in mornings. They stairs to them room areas not carpeted and you can hear people going you and down. Worth the price for back and b.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was over the kitchen, so a little noisy as the extractor vent was right outside the window. Excellent breakfast and good food served in the pub. Very busy and popular but still efficient and friendly service.
4 out of 5
by Martin

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
short break, know the area well so ideal place to stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fareham

Remote country pub with dated accommodation.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Company. Location. Staff.
Cons: Bedrooms
Location: Remote. Good base for touring
Remote country pub out of season, very quiet. Staff welcoming, company cheerful and friendly. Ideal location for touring Cornwall with substantial breakfast included. Huge car park. Accommodation in need of refurbishment.