Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Etienne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Small, family-run hotel

Posted May 3, 2015
A small, family-run hotel in a quiet, centrally located street. The room was basic, but clean and comfortable, but the bathroom was a little small. The garden was peaceful and relaxing and the staff were friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

one night only

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
Bare bones hotel but the family were very nice and we had every thing we needed for a sort stay. Homemade breakfast in beautiful garden.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service at the front desk.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
The man at the desk was very abrupt, unfriendly and unhelpful. When we asked for a restaurant recommendation, he hauled out a stack of cards from a restaurant that was clearly for tourists. When we checked out the restaurant, it served spaghetti and pizza....not exactly the Turkish experience we were hoping for (and that we had specifically asked him for). Unlike other experiences in Turkey, we did not feel welcomed at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

On a quiet side street

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: There was a laundry and barber shop nearby and it was in walking distance to many attractions.
Cons: The hot water was not as plentiful as I would like, but everything else about the hotel made that only a slight convenience.
Location: The Castle, the bazaar, and good restaurants were near by.
The proprietor met us with a glass of cool water and quickly settled us into our room even though we arrived well before check in. He suggested ways to enjoy Bodrum and recommended restaurants in the area. He and his staff were very gracious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Excellent host Great stay

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: The best part of the stay is that we felt like a part of the neighborhood with a handy laundry and a Turkish barber.
Location: We were near the bazaar, nice restaurants and the historical sights and museums were within walking distance.
We were an early arrival, but our host met our cab, served us iced water and quickly got us into our room. The room and bath are basic, but met all of our needs. Clean comfortable bedding and towels and a comfortable bed made our stay lovely. The host made suggestions about how to spend our time, recommended restaurants in the area and arranged a visit to a hamman. Breakfast everyday was on a delightful outdoor patio and was more than enough to start our day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by hj from seoul

clean rooms

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
Rooms were very clean but the area hotel was located smelled somewhat weird. The reception was a bit rude but he does what he should.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Nice Hotel, friendly staff

Posted Aug 31, 2014
It was a very nice stay with very friendly staff, very helpful. It is managed by a family. Good value for the money. Veryyyy nice little garden!! Thank you hotel Gulec for the pleasant environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Quiet spot in busy Bodrum

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Good value and location, family-run, nice garden
The name of this hotel means always smiling, which describes perfectly our experience and the excellent treatment by the owners.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

a hotel that was not thoughtful

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels
We bought the bus tickets 3 days prior to our arrival, but we had never known that almost all the bus tickets had been sold out except the tickets with a bad departure time. We had no choice, and at last, we arrived at the hotel at 5:30am. Hotel Gulec got annoyed about it and doubted why we knew little about the popularity of Bodrum in summer. They couldn't understand a tourist's situations or feelings. From then on, they didn't offer any good service to us. What was worse was that they made our friend wait long outside the reception counter without informing us of his arrival. Besides, our 4-bed room was extremely small. We even had no space for walking, not to say for opening our luggage. Their garden and breakfast were fine. Hotel Gulec can be good for those who will arrive at a normal time and who need a single or double room. It's really bad for people like us who need a 4-bed room and can only arrive very early. On the same day, 2 of our traveling friends stayed at another hotel nearby. Their hotel allowed them to check in immediately and offered them easy breakfast and water for free. Hotel Gulec was the only hotel that we were not satisfied with during our 24- day trip in Turkey. Their cleaning ladies were nice, but the managers were not.