Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
not good for people with disability, I had to insist on a change of room three times, before I got a desent room with sea view, I had to set my own breakfast table at 9.30am and on first morning no hot food at 9.45am. I can go on but I am still on holiday in better hotel until 18th October
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Staff barely speak English or understand a word, Nice hotel, and entertainment for kids every night. Rooms are ok, Wouldn't say it's a 5 star hotel, I'd say 3 star
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Was not impressed with the good. Liked the staff very friendly. No entertainment
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Turkey

First impressions okay

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Staff, spa facilities and stupendous views
Cons: Everything including standard of food, speed of repair, alcoholic drinks quality and comfort of mattresses on the beds.
Location: Cannot comment as it was winter and the weather was wet and miserable but worth a visit to Mid Town shopping centre.
Then, room damp and smelly had to be moved into one which was clean but huge draft through french door, air conditioner blew cold most of the time and phone not working. Phone never repaired and draft fixed only the day before we left. Food was atrocious and the local only drinks were terrible including the red wine and local spirits. The New year's eve meal, which the management wanted us to pay extra for on arrival, which we refused to pay, was very poor indeed. On a positive note the staff were extremely hard working and helpful especially Osaman, the bell boy who helped with every problem we and our friends had and who spoke very good English and the cleaner who kept our room immaculate. We had no toast for breakfast even though they had an industrial toaster in the large dining room but would not move it to the restaurant where we had breakfast. In all twelve of us stayed there and none of us would return. This was classed as a five star hotel but we estimated it to be two and a half star only. Quality was non existing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Pictures don't tell the whole story

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Location and view were excellent.
Cons: Pluming for sure. They need a new chef as well
Location: Bodrum is an amazing place to visit in Turkey and there are numerous activities,such as visiting nearby Greek Isles which make it a trip to remember.
This hotel has several floors which are below the lobby and street level.These floors without exception reeked of sewer smells. We tried a few of these floors and the result was the same.The hotel claims the smell is the result of heavy raining which they had in the preceding days. This all inclusive hotel's supposedly five star food also left much to be desired.
1 out of 5
by Albo from London

Worst 5 star hotel I have ever been

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
Do not be fooled by the 5 stars. This is max a 3 star hotel, with a superb location but very poor facilities and service. The room was ugly and looked like an hospital room: very poor furniture, bathroom very basic and no caracter. Food is terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous views, great hotel..

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Food was delicious with a BBQ meat/fish option every evening. Staff were friendly and room was a good size. Gym was great (for a hotel gym) and animation team were fun. Recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from moscow

Not a 5 star hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
The hotel is far away from the beach. To get there you need to go with shuttle bus which is always full. Would never say this is 5 stat hotel, maximum 3 stars. Staff doesn't really speak English and and never willing to help or assist.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel however major improvements needed

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Positives: Overall a lovely hotel. The views overlooking the sea was amazing and the rooms were very comfortable, food was brilliant and always delicious. Negatives: 5 star hotel? Rooms do not come with an iron which is always needed on holiday and that is not good enough for a 5 star. Staff do not hardly speak any English! This becomes a major problem as the waiters do not understand anything you want, the animation team all speak only in Turkish so you can't really communicate well with them during the evening entertainment and anything you might want to ask they can't really help you with because of the language barrier! That is unacceptable for hotel staff, the hotel is also not on the beach and very far up on a hill so it is very difficult to walk up and down that hill all the time to access the beach. You will have to keep paying for a bus although buses are very cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aishah from UK

Lovely Hotel, close to the beach

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The staff were helpful, the food was very good, the atmosphere of the hotel was everything I expected and more. Facilities were excellent and clean.
Cons: The only thing that could be improved, would be the slight issue of communication with the staff as they didn't understand English properly.
Location: One of the best things about this hotel would be the tour guide, he organised all activities for us at a great price. Not a lot of places to eat out.
When I first arrived to Royal Arena hotel, it was a warm, friendly welcome by the staff. My first appearance of the hotel was really nice, clean and big. The walk to our room was pleasant as everything was really open and modern. Whilst taking us to our room, they showed us the facilities of the hotel and where everything was which was very helpful. Our room was the size expected, and very clean. We got told that the next day that our tour guide would meet and greet us, this was very helpful as we didn't have a clue where to go and what to do. Once we met our tour guide, he told us about all the activities that were going on, the best places to visit and also how to get to places. This was fantastic as he organised everything for us which included the travel and food. We had everything included in our package including all facilities being free, and also buffet for breakfast, lunch, evening and supper. I must say the food we got there was lovely, there was a wide range of option and it was a great service. This was better than I expected. The views from this hotel were amazing, the whole outlook on the hotel was spot on, I would definitely rate this hotel 5* and we are hoping to return again for summer. I recommend anyone to visit as it is one of the best hotels in Bodrum for this price.