Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

The service of the staff saved our stay

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: The staff were very friendly , and if you need a tie there are about 6 tie shops within a block .
Cons: Unfortunately the surroundings are what they are a..a.downtown atmosphere is what it is in any city.
The room we stayed in was tiny and the beds were super hard , the staff was super friendly especially Juan who saved us by helping order a pizza from a nearby restaurant , as I could not communicate with thru restaurant myself . The hotel is in the middle of everything and a short walk to just about all the attractions you would want to see .
4 out of 5
by Jyothikumar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Sunny from Sheen

Poor cleaning, Poor sleep,Disrespect, Overcharge

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
The first hour in the room I went to the bathroom while my husband went to get some food and got trapped in there. There was no knob at the door but there was a latch. Thank goodness my husband came back soon or God knows how long I would be lock there. I can't imagine the nightmare if I was alone (We were on the 3rd floor). Cleaning lady entered the room one day without even knocking catching us semi naked getting ready to go out. Another day the room got no cleaning at all. There were 2 old towels in the room when we arrived, only one in the second and third nights. The most annoying was the glass window they have from the room into the hallway with a motion sensor light right at it. Every time someone walked on the hallway in the middle of the night the light would go on and wake us up. There was no way to close/block those 2 glass openings. When we checked out we were possessed to hear that they were charging us U$ 30 for stains on towels. I do acknowledge that my hair accidently LIGHTLY stained a towel but not only no hotel has ever charged me for something like this but the amount charged was absurd. The towel was OLD and falling apart and there was nothing written anywhere about the charge for accidents. U$ 30,00 or COP 60.000,00 could buy a LOT of towels in Bogota. They were outraged but the staff treated us with the outmost disrespect. They called me a cab while we were discussing the charge to try to get rid of us. It was a horrible experience.
2 out of 5
by Thom from UK

Eh

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
It wasn't the nicest. Should have stayed elsewhere in the La Candelaria district.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

all style, no substance

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Don't believe the pictures. Believe the reviews. We made the mistake of getting carried away by the beautiful pictures. The hotel is in fact pretty but the rooms are pretty bare and small. Don't expect a place to hang your clothes, a chair, or even towels. We had to ask four times before getting any towels (and wait about 10 hours). We also had to wait half an hour for our room at 6 pm. The dining room is pretty much for show (with the exception of breakfast). All restaurants around the area close around 5-6 pm and, unless you take a cab, you must order take out. The hotel doesn't serve any food. We even asked for a fork and we were told that they can't give you one at night. Spend the extra 10 dollars and stay in a better hotel/neighborhood.
1 out of 5
by Priscila from Florida, USA

Red alert

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
Even the locals are afraid to hang in this area due to high crime. Danger zone
5 out of 5
by Mariqui from Florida, USA

Ámbar Hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels
I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for three nights and was pleasantly surprised. .at how well treated you are as a guest. .how clean the rooms were..how close to many interesting places it is..I Definitely Recommend It! !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stad not flexible and noisy

Posted Aug 6, 2014
We arrived early after a long trip, but check-in time is 3 o'clock. We tried to check in at 3, but we had to wait untill 5 o'clock, because something went wrong with the reservation... We we're a bit late for breakfast, so we couldn't get anything anymore... Room was clean, but it was noisy; cars were driving through the room... And the hotel is not in candelaria, but in centro, that's good to know!
2 out of 5
by Piece from London

Good location but many issues.

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
Ambar is a reasonable enough hotel but a few niggly issues lowered our impression significantly. Depending on the location of your room, you may have a window overlooking the breakfast area, or if you are unlucky you could end up with a window that overlooks a tiny walled box used by previous guests to hide cigarette butts. Another issue was that the housekeeping staff started their rounds at around 6am, being noisy as they did so. You were often disturbed before 10am by somebody wanting to clean your room and as the hotel has paper-thin walls, the hotel is incredibly loud. We found it not to be a place to stay if you are in need of a good nights sleep. We were also subject to a number of mis-dialled alarm calls and the staff were unapologetic. Despite the negatives, this hotel provides good showers (hot and high-pressured) and the TV has a great range of channels, with some even in English.
5 out of 5
by DW Wilson

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels