Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Helpful and kind staff + nice room

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Location is not too far from tourist areas. Taxi ride was about $3 USD (8,000 Colombian pesos) to la candelaria area that is full of cathedrals, churches, museums, and the centro of bogotá. From el dorado airport taxi cab was 38,000 pesos ($13 USD, but I think I was overcharged). Hotel staff (Manuel??) was incredibly helpful, I was grateful for all the advice given and patience for my lack of colombian peso! Room had a funky chemical smell but I opened a window and that solved that problem. Plenty of hot water, large bed, closet and ample room since I was just 1 traveler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC, USA

Nice place, great service

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Cons: My bedsheet was too small for my bed and it kept slipping off-- even when I would climb into it after it was just made.
Location: Chapinero is a nice neighborhood, and the Transmilenio station is only a 7 minute walk away.
My friend and I enjoyed our stay at Casa Paulina and I would return again for future visits. The staff are very nice, professional, and helpful to talk to. The rooms are clean and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near Dallas

Excellent service and facilities for good price.

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Great, hard working staff who clean the place constantly. Excellent tourist advice from desk staff. Hot coffee and tea available 24 hrs.
Cons: The beds are pretty darn hard.
Location: Not a touristic area, but plenty of simple cafes and restaurants nearby. Three blocks from the Transmilenio. Ten minute taxi ride to the Zona Rosa.
Nice, if small, room with small fridge. Had private bath with plenty of hot water. Very quiet room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samuel E. from Boca Raton, Florida

Good choice.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Beds.......hard as a rock.
Location: Safe.
Casa Paulina is definitely a family atmosphere hotel, because of my profession I stay in hotels 3 and 4 nights a week around the world and none have had the family atmosphere of Casa Paulina. The area is located relatively close to the sites of any tourist interest, my partner and I were able to take a taxi every time without fear of breaking the bank and the neighborhood is relatively safe, of course with the caution that one must have in any big city in the world. As for the hotel itself, the place is immaculate, every day you see people cleaning and arranging every corner of the hotel, in the 6 nights we stayed, there was never a problem with that, the only issue was the bed, hard as a rock, I don't know if it is the norm in Colombia but the bed was too hard to rest, I think it was on the fifth night we were able to sleep due the accumulated fatigue. There is no air conditioning in the room but in March and April there was no need for it, For staff who work there, ALL without exception are friendly and with the desire to help the guest, Mrs. Doris is undoubtedly the force that keeps the hotel running, always friendly, talkative and willing to do what it takes to make guest to feel pleased, if ever my partner and I return to Bogota, Casa Paulina would be our first choice but we hope that by then they have changed the beds. For the traveler with a budget and willing to sacrifice luxuries for friendliness and a family atmosphere Casa Paulina is the place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from Liverpool, UK.

Clean, secure, well located, and helpful staff

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: All the things I've listed above, plus there is complimentary tea and coffee in the reception.
Cons: Sometimes you have to let the shower run for a few mins for the hot water to come on, but the staff explained that clearly when I arrrived.
Location: It's well located . The Transmilenio is 3 blocks away.Plaza Lourdes area with lots of places to eat, drink, shops etc is four blocks.
Casa Paulina is a very good choice for a stay in Chapinero district. I read a number of reviews before choosing it and judging by my stay they were quite correct. As a number of reviewers had pointed out ,from the outside the hotel does not look so attractive (partly because of the security bars all around), but on the inside it is very different. The main points are: 1)The hotel is kept spotlessly clean, not just the room and bathroom but all the communal areas too. 2) It is very secure, all guests are buzzed in and out of two separate doors in sequence and they have CCTV cameras in the communal areas. 3) The staff are very friendly and helpful, Dona Doris the manager is very efficient and organized my room request and taxi collection from the airport with no problems. Manuel the young guy who is often on front desk in the evening is also very helpful with tips on where to buy stuff, things to see, calling taxis for you etc. 4) I asked for a top floor room for a more quiet stay and I was not disturbed by traffic noise at all. The room I had was a good size, comfy bed, modern flatscreen cable tv, and the wifi signal was always strong in my room. The shower was good although you do sometimes have to let it run a few mins for the hot water to come through.
1 out of 5
by Not Impressed from New York

Noise, noise, noise.

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Clean
Cons: It is next to a super noisy street.
The hotel is clean, but next to a busy road. You will hear LOUD traffic from morning until 3am. In the early morning the staff starts cleaning. You will hear them talking, listening to loud music, and not giving any concern for the people who might still be sleeping. It was a total nightmare. Yes, very clean, but who cares about clean when you cannot sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adam from Miami, FL

Excellent lodging value, clean, good services

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, manager's friendliness and responsiveness, refrigerator/mini-bar, desk and other in-room furniture.
Cons: The Internet Wifi worked well overall, but could have been a bit faster, and even stopped completely for a few hours on one occasion.
Location: Many small restaurants near by, and of course visit Iglesia de Monserrate!
Compared with most hotels in Bogota (or the world, for that matter), this property offers excellent lodging for a modest cost. The manager happily goes out of her way to help with any issues and always has a smile for guests. Cleanliness is obviously a major priority at this location, both in the room and around the hotel has a whole, with plenty of attention to detail. Rooms are quiet and comfortable, the cool Bogota nights are great for sleeping.
2 out of 5
by Gregory from Atlanta, USA

Combination...

Posted Jan 12, 2014
My experience is a combination of positive and negative things. The staff are nice, nice location, clean room. Negative: the room was too cold, no heater. No telephone in the room. MORE: MY CREDIT CARD AND DRIVER'S LICENSE WERE STOLEN.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from Darwin

Good Location

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Clean rooms and friendly staff with a good location.
Cons: English can be a bit of a problem at times.
Location: There is a square a few blocks away with most needs catered for in that area
Clean rooms and friendly staff with a good location. English can be a bit of a problem at times. Overall good value for money if you are on a budget
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Los Angeles

Very functional, clean, convenient.

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Quiet room in the back so little street noise. Price was fantastic, all i wanted was a clean reasonable place with my own bathroom, it exceeded that.
Cons: Nothing in the hotel. The bus was a couple blocks and I didn't walk at night but in the daytime was just fine. So can't comment on late in the eve.
Location: Bus is close not sure much else is nearby. I was there on Sunday so not a lot of restaurants etc. that I saw but I think they were closed.
Very decent for the price paid, own bathroom, close to the bus, clean, and perfect for one night. They didn't speak much English but called someone to translate, that was great.