Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice hostel in the historic center

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The place is very pleasant, rooms are nice, common bathrooms are cleaned, and the common area is very pretty; the bar/ restaurant is very pleasant and the breakfast is generous and very good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Smelly Room, Rude Front Desk Staff, Uncomfortable Flea Ridden Bed and Poorly Ventilated Room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comment, as it always helps us to go further. We regret that you had a bad experience at Masaya, and hope to make you change your mind in the future as we made the adequate changes in the rooms so that your experience won't happen again in the future. See you soon in Masaya!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great location - fun, relaxed hostel

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Staff were really welcoming and helpful. Went out of their way to make sure our stay was good.
Cons: Having a private bathroom, however their may be in the other rooms - we just booked late so did not have a choice.
We booked quite late so had a triple room for the two of us. Only disappointment was not having a private bathroom, otherwise, the hostel was really well laid out, great staff, quiet, laid back atmosphere. Location was really good - 2 min walk into the main old town.
4 out of 5
by James from Arkansas

Masaya Hostel is a winner

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
Masaya is a clean, friendly hostel. The hostel experience is about inexpensive, community-oriented experiences, and Masaya was just that. We easily made friends with other travelers as well as the staff. And the outings offered at the hostel were perfectly inline with their focus on local, sustainable exploration.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hostel badly located room

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Good location for a lot of the sites however our room was located right next to reception & the common area/bar so was difficult to sleep with the noise. Actual room was fine & bathroom was really nice, spacious and a great hot shower
5 out of 5
by Joseph from Chicago

Masaya was great

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
I really enjoyed this hostel. It was cozy and clean and felt like a bit of the city tucked secretly away from the rest. Leo at breakfast time was always a happy face that started the day off well.
5 out of 5
by Darren from Boca Raton, Florida

Urban Oasis in La Candeleria

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed at many hostels and I will say that Masaya was easily one of my top picks. This place is large with multiple common areas. The rooms were nearly spotless and the location was as good as it gets. You are close to everything La Candeleria has to offer and more! The hostel has your usual amenities with computers, kitchen, VERY clean bathrooms, computers, good internet, and more. They have a wonderful and tasty breakfast and cooking classes that were well thought out and very inviting. A big bonus about Masaya that I quite enjoyed was that demographics of people staying there. It was not your typical young 20's crowd but an eclectic mix of young and old from all over the world. This was incredible. A good vibe, great environment that was not without its party moments but still allowed for a pleasant night’s sleep when ready to turn in. My favorite part of this Hostel was one of the employees Brigitte. She was an absolute incredible host and a huge asset to the Hostel. She greeted as if we were family or close friends with a big happy smile, joined us for games of pool and gave excellent recommendation of things to do in the area. Masaya is lucky to have such an excellent employee. I believe a promotion and raise is definitely in order. To the bosses and owners of Masaya...keep this employee and don't let her go because she made our stay in Bogota memorable and our stay at your hostel unforgettable! Thanks Brigitte and thanks Masaya.
5 out of 5
by Jimmy from uphall, Scotland

we enjoyed our stay

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location within old town. Staff very helpful.Overall a very good experience. Enjoyed breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful, great location, shared bathrooms

Posted Jan 19, 2015
This is a beautiful place with three interior patios and a fun vibe. It's located in the picturesque and historic Candelabria district that's an easy walk to the gold museum, Montserrate, and Bolivar Plaza. It's very clean, has a friendly staff, and has gorgeous woodwork. When I booked I didn't realize that our room didn't have a private bathroom so be aware about that. Also our room had a low beam in it running across the ceiling which may have been a potential headache in the middle of the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location in a candelaria

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: staff, location
Cons: need warm or hot water for showers
We stayed 2 nights and overall enjoyed our stay because it was in a great location in walking distance to all the main sights and many restaurants in la candelaria. However, the shower in our private room number 1 was cold and there was no warm or hot water in the bathroom. On our second day, although we had our own private bathroom, we both opted to shower in the dorm shower which had warmer shower water temperature. We found 2 spiders crawling along the walls in our room. The pluses: The breakfast included was very good with fresh fruit and juice, cereal, eggs, toast. The girl working at the desk was very helpful as she was able to give us lots of information on map, ciclovia, flea market etc.