Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Moved us to another hotel without consultation

Posted Dec 5, 2016
The Book Hotel informed us while we were in the car from the airport that they had rebooked us in a different hotel in a different neighborhood. We were told that the reason was the hotel was experiencing a water problem. All of this is fine, except they had many opportunities to tell us about this problem before we were in the car. We had prepaid for the hotel through Expedia and The Book Hotel made other arrangements with a new hotel without our consent. I called Expedia that night to complain. Expedia emailed me the next day that The Book Hotel denied my request for a refund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Beautiful hotel in a lovely neighborhood

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Beautiful hotel in a lovely neighborhood. This place is in an active neighborhood but a quiet street. A short walk to great restaurants and fun night life. The Wi-Fi was a little weak in my room, but that's minor compared to how kind and helpful the staff were and what a great location this was for enjoying Bogotá.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Overall very good, albeit a bit noisy at times.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Very well located, charming neighbourhood.
Doors could be thicker... Breakfast is simple but adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: In a quiet area
Waiting for us at 2:30 am with a smile...checked in and I our room in10 min...one hour slow stroke to old city and same in other direction to zone rosa....restaurants in both area more in the.zona rosa...streets are quiet at night.....would stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san pedro

hotel pics dont show the real state of hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: staff
Cons: rooms are really deteriorated, breakfast is not really a buffet
this place cannot be called a hotel, its a house with rooms , really deteriorated the breakfast is really not a buffet, it only is 2 fruits and an egg whichever style, and the eggs are not that good, the rooms have a lot of wear, the carpets are all stained, really not worth the price. also the area where its located is known in bogota for certain kind of people, no comments the only good thing about the hotel is the staff, is really friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medellin

Nice place. Loacated in the center of the city.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: Kitchen people attention
Location: Happyoga place for practicing, comercial malls, sundays with bicycle activities.
People is kind during check in and check out. Breakfast included has different options to eat/drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good value for money

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Location: Very close to the gold museam, national museaum and Monserrat as well as the old town (12k COP cab ride).
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would stay again if the opportunity arose. The room was small, but functional and even though it lacked an outside window it was in a small courtyard and received a reasonable amount of light from the interior window. The included breakfast was good as was the service at the hotel. Staff were very helpful when we needed assistance with cabs or suggestions on where to dine close by. There is a great restaurant named minimal very close and also a good Italian restaurant close by whose name escapes me. We received a great price on the room and for the price it was good value in a very accessible part of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Florida

Excellent location, like staying at someone's home

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Had a non smoking room with a queen size bed, Sony HDTV with cable &free WiFi, small refrigerator, and an electronic safe in the closet. Beautiful view from my second floor windows facing the mountains. Warm and friendly staff all the time, had free breakfast (delicious omelets with toast, fruits, coffee, and juice), also a nice menu available. 5 minute walk to the restaurants, banks, bars, park, ect. And don't forget the fresh markets that you can shop at to fill your fridge during your stay. Also felt very safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Cuenca Ecuador

Nice hotel for the money.

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Locaction.
Cons: Open the bar, better breakfast, quiet the dog.
Location: Not much in the immediate vicinity to do. Need to take a taxi or bus to most sights. National museum is within walking distance.
Overall this is a very good hotel for the money. It is centrally located so you can get to the historic district and also Zona Rosa by taxi or bus. One night a dog was barking and kept me up otherwise it was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was mediocre and I opted for eating at another restaurant after the first two days. The bar was closed (they don't have one, but you could buy a beer from the front desk. They ran out of bottled water for a couple of days. So you get what you pay for. All in all for the money I would return.
2 out of 5
by Gerardo from bogota

Hot water takes 15 min to get warm

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Hot water takes 15 min to get warm, WC don't flush I was changed twice from room because of that, rooms have a not nice smell. Design of the shower is terrible. If you turn off the light the outlet get without power, so you can't charge your phone you have to unplug the lamp.