Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very charming

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: convenient to Appalachian trail if you like hiking and it was cute place
Location: great location
The Bed and Breakfast was very cute and charming. A lot of history in this place and it's surroundings. Kitty was the owner very sweet and accommodating . The place was very interesting with all the decor inside and out. She made us a wonderful breakfast (souffle) , was out of this world and told us the history of this town of Boiling Springs. Just stay 1 night . Nice tavern in walking distance , called the Boiling Springs Tavern was terrific food and service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Charming Victorian house with rude hosts

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: charming Victorian house, near river
Cons: staff was rude
I like to try independent hotels or B&Bs; one of the benefits is the personalized friendly service but this was not the case at Gelinas. When I arrived, I was treated as if I was an inconvenience. There was a miscommunication about whether I was having breakfast on my second day (having declined my first day) and I was treated very rudely as if I was to blame. The room itself was okay but I wouldn't go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hondo, Texas

Charming

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Can't pick just one thing--the décor, the food, and the town are all beautiful.
Cons: N/A
Location: Gettysburg is only about 30 minutes away. Lancaster is a little over an hour. The drive is beautiful. There's a lake outside, too.
The Victorian room, the breakfast, and the area are all simply charming. We stayed there for two nights for our anniversary. Would love to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Scenic, on the lake and indoors

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Carlisle for First Night, hike the AT, feed the wildfowl and antiquing.
Comfortable home, caring host and good location to see the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wilson, pa

bed & breakfast good time

Posted Nov 3, 2014
we stayed one night for a little mini getaway. The owner assisted us in making reservations at the local tavern. The breakfast was amazing and delicious. Our room was nice sized and the bathroom was very nice and large. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty neighborhood.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: The neighborhood is pretty. There is a nice collection of books in the master bedroom. Everything was meticulously clean.
Cons: They need hot water!! And locks on the doors! And an indoor coffee maker.
Location: There are several colleges nearby.
We stayed for one night. This B&B is over-the -top decorated with many china statues, dolls, and Victorian themed items. The bedroom door could not be locked when we went out. There was an inside latch, but not sure if it really worked. We had to leave before the promised, "gourmet breakfast", and our hostess did not offer to make us anything earlier. There was a table outside with a Keurig coffee maker, but no coffee. The shower was lukewarm at best. I would not recommend this for a visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DL from DC

Mrs. G's delightful B&B

Posted Jul 10, 2012
Pros: breakfast served in the back garden
Location: small town feel, next to spring fed waters and part of the Appalachian Trail.
Mrs. G. is delightful, especially when she has a moment to stop and chat with her guests. She cooks up a great breakfast, and the rooms are immaculate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Victorian B&B

Posted Jun 23, 2012
Incredibly wonderful breakfast! Real Victorian style, with many good amenities. Wonderful gardens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

boiling springs b and b

Posted May 9, 2012
Pros: excellent breakfast and very quiet stay
Location: great location with a scenic view of the lake
very quiet and delightful. the room was comfortable and the owner was easy to talk to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen from Cincinnati

Visit the Victorian Era with modern conveniences!

Posted Apr 10, 2012
Pros: The decor, the hosts, the food, the view from the windows
Cons: It is not handicapped accessible (it was grandfathered in to requirements) , which will limit some from being able to enjoy it.
Location: It is easy to get to, and is in the middle of a really neat town, with a wonderful spring-fed lake right out front.
I felt very welcome when I arrived, shown to my absolutely beautiful room. Near the room was a coffee/tea bar with cookies- just what I needed after the airplane ride. The Victorian decor was charming- my room was a young girl's room, complete with doll carriage, Raggedy Anne, childhood books with lots of memories, etc. There was a electric fireplace which provided either ambiance only, or ambiance and warmth. The bathroom was quite updated with all of the items needed. Again the decor was perfect. In the morning, I went downstairs to beautiful music, a three course breakfast (delicious) and a warm reception by the host- a very charming lady with a real culinary gift! It was Easter weekend, so I was surrounded by Easter bunnies and Easter Eggs and delightful adornments. I loved every minute there. It was too chilly to have my breakfast on the veranda, but a stroll in the garden was my after breakfast treat. I need to return to the general area next week-end, so I cancelled my hotel arrangements and signed up for another glorious stay at Gelanis Manor. This time, I'll experience a different of her themed rooms.