Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very charming

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: convenient to Appalachian trail if you like hiking and it was cute place
Location: great location
The Bed and Breakfast was very cute and charming. A lot of history in this place and it's surroundings. Kitty was the owner very sweet and accommodating . The place was very interesting with all the decor inside and out. She made us a wonderful breakfast (souffle) , was out of this world and told us the history of this town of Boiling Springs. Just stay 1 night . Nice tavern in walking distance , called the Boiling Springs Tavern was terrific food and service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Charming Victorian house with rude hosts

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: charming Victorian house, near river
Cons: staff was rude
I like to try independent hotels or B&Bs; one of the benefits is the personalized friendly service but this was not the case at Gelinas. When I arrived, I was treated as if I was an inconvenience. There was a miscommunication about whether I was having breakfast on my second day (having declined my first day) and I was treated very rudely as if I was to blame. The room itself was okay but I wouldn't go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hondo, Texas

Charming

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Can't pick just one thing--the décor, the food, and the town are all beautiful.
Cons: N/A
Location: Gettysburg is only about 30 minutes away. Lancaster is a little over an hour. The drive is beautiful. There's a lake outside, too.
The Victorian room, the breakfast, and the area are all simply charming. We stayed there for two nights for our anniversary. Would love to return.
5 out of 5
by Susan from Southbridge

Charming B & B !

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
We loved the place and loved listening to the octogenarian inn keeper tell us about her world Travels !❤️
4 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gale from Girard, Ohio

Gelinas Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
The bed and breakfast was nice and clean . The Wicker room was on the small side and we had to share the bathroom, but it presented no problems. We knew that when we booked the room.The town was very interesting and beautiful. Lots of great older homes kept in very nice condition. Mrs. Gelinas , Was a great host ,we had a great conversation , and the breakfast was fantastic. We will come back again, but next time we will stay in one of the larger rooms. The Appalachian Trail was a great plus being nearby to walk on . You have to see the Boiling springs nearby , I've never seen water so clear and clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Scenic, on the lake and indoors

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Carlisle for First Night, hike the AT, feed the wildfowl and antiquing.
Comfortable home, caring host and good location to see the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wilson, pa

bed & breakfast good time

Posted Nov 3, 2014
we stayed one night for a little mini getaway. The owner assisted us in making reservations at the local tavern. The breakfast was amazing and delicious. Our room was nice sized and the bathroom was very nice and large. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly.
4 out of 5
by Jim and Kathy Martin from Greenwood Lake, NY

Very enjoyable stay!

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels
Our friends from down south were showing their car in the 2014 Mopar show in Carlisle. I was a little late in booking a hotel, but found this B&B and despite mixed reviews, decided to book. I'm not much into Victorian style homes, but thought my wife Kathy would like it. This house was built around 1870. To my surprise, we had a wonderful experience. Our room "The Victorian" was very nice, with a comfortable bed, good size bath, quality linen and AC was fine. I loved all the antiques, the rear courtyard garden was great for an afternoon drink in the shade, as was the front porch. Kitty our host was wonderful - well traveled and very knowledgeable. I enjoyed her company and hospitality. While we were at the show, we called Gelinas and asked if they could try to make dinner reservations for us at the Boiling Springs Tavern, which they did. That place is only a minute's walk from Gelinas, and the food was fantastic. Boiling Springs is a picturesque and wonderful historic town, and much nicer to stay there than in a hotel on some busy highway or city. We also became friends with another couple staying at Gelinas who were also showing their car at the show. They said this was their third stay at Gelinas and loved it. We told them we would see them again at the 2015 show. Take any of the bad reviews you've read with a grain of salt- some folks just cant be pleased no matter what. All in all, a very relaxing and wonderful stay at Gelinas! Jim & Kathy Martin
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty neighborhood.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: The neighborhood is pretty. There is a nice collection of books in the master bedroom. Everything was meticulously clean.
Cons: They need hot water!! And locks on the doors! And an indoor coffee maker.
Location: There are several colleges nearby.
We stayed for one night. This B&B is over-the -top decorated with many china statues, dolls, and Victorian themed items. The bedroom door could not be locked when we went out. There was an inside latch, but not sure if it really worked. We had to leave before the promised, "gourmet breakfast", and our hostess did not offer to make us anything earlier. There was a table outside with a Keurig coffee maker, but no coffee. The shower was lukewarm at best. I would not recommend this for a visit.