Ratings based on 2,898 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The staff are knowledgeable and friendly. There are more luxurious hotels in the vicinity, but this one is a very good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtful comments; we appreciate it. We are always pleased when our guests have a great experience. Thank you for staying with us. See you next time. Thank you, Tom C General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Old but clean

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Location on river
Cons: More outlets for chargers
Location: Eat at papa joes and the stagecoach steak house. The food was great!
Needs some updating. Needs outlets for common phones and chargers. They need to add a strip and attach to the table between the beds at a minimum. Cheap travel spot for getting off the highway and passing out for the night. The front desk staff was AMAZING though. Very unexpected to have such friendly and articulate folks at the front desk. They should have the dumpsters emptied after five am though. Both nights the smashing of the dumpster being emptied woke me up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Charles, Thank you for your honest assessment of our hotel; we appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you for staying with us. Tom C. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel. Poor service. Comfortable beds.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: comfortable bed.
Cons: staff should be trained to be customer service oriented. I felt like an uninvited guest. House keeping was by far the friendliest.
Location: good location - probably the reason this place stays in business.
When I booked I was told i'd get a room w a view. I didn't. Hotel would not allow a 1 hour late check out. Man working hovered at breakfast and literally cut the top off a large box that he rested on the table where I was having breakfast with my grandson. pool area smelled (and not in a good way). Key system has problems - my key worked 1/2 the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We do apologize that your visit was not what you had hoped. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. This allows us to address the items mentioned in your comments. Thank you for staying with us. Thank you, Tom C. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff was AMAZING BUUUTTTT

Posted Feb 24, 2017
The staff was great and helpful only my room was very out of date. Old school Carpets. Not to mention the door frame was broken and someone had tried nailing it back on so it was flimsy and definitely not safe. If we were In a dangerous part of town I'd be terrified
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for the very nice comments regarding our staff. They do a great job and we appreciate you noticing. My apologies regarding the outdatedness of the room and the condition of the door. We appreciate you letting us know about your experience. We will do everything we can to correct the problems you mentioned. Thank you for staying with us. Thank you, Tom C General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, Idaho

Hotel showing its age

Posted Feb 24, 2017
We thought this hotel, based on ratings we read, would be a nice place to stay. Unfortunately, the night we chose turned out to be the night that the staff were overwhelmed, unprepared, and disorganized. It took almost 30 minutes of waiting in the small lobby just to check in. Once we got to our room and started the shower, we discovered that the drains for the shower and the sink were both backed up; disgusting! The hotel sent up a maintenance man who, after 20 minutes and the use of noxious chemicals, was still unable to unclog the drains. We chose to leave the hotel and go back home, and sadly lost the money we spent on the room because the hotel has a "no refund" policy...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Huge potential

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Pricing, location
Cons: See above
Staff was friendly and helpful. Matress was great, pillows not so much but bedding was clean. Carpet was new throughout but walls needed crack repairs patches and painted. Bathrooms needed refresh.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Scott, Thank you for your honest assessment of our hotel; we appreciate it. Thank you for the kind comments about our staff and our hotel. We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you, Tom C General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable, good location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Good place to stay on a trip through . Close to town. Good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property; we appreciate it. We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. We always like to hear that. Thank you for staying with us. Tom C General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melba, Idaho

Nice hotel, close to river

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Enjoyed stay, pool was great late at night. Breakfast was good, room was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jack, We are so pleased that you enjoyed all that our hotel has to offer. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you, Tom C General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room with a balcony that overlooked a river.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The quiet and the river view.
Cons: I wish there were more restaurant options close by.
The river view was a lovely surprise, in a hotel budget world that usually includes only parking lots and freeways as options. The staff was very gracious and the room very comfortable and quiet. It's close proximity to downtown Boise was great for my travel needs. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the very nice review of our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the comfortable rooms, great service and location. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you again very soon. Thank you, Tom C General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Twin Falls

Fire alarm and ant problem

Posted Feb 17, 2017
We have been staying at this hotel for the past six months with no issues everything has been fine but this day it was about 9:15 p.m. I was sound asleep and the fire alarm went off scared me to death then it turned off. So I laid there it went off again after three times we called the front desk because it seemed like ours was the only one going off so she sent maintenance down and maintenance did not know how to fix the problem so he left and he said he'd come back well we waited for 30 minutes and the alarm went off 30 times so we had enough my husband went down to the front desk she gave my husband a key to another room so about 10:30 1045 we're changing rooms we were not happy. It took me about 2 hours to get to sleep. Next morning we woke up got some breakfast took it to the room my husband was sitting at the desk eating and they were little ants crawling all over. So when we checked out we went to the front desk told them our concerns and the night person did not even notify them about the fire alarm which we found out there were approximately three of the fire alarms that went off at night because the night person told my husband that. So the morning people just said to us I'm so sorry have a nice day. We were not happy in the least the maintenance guy should have came back and let us know I'm sorry I cannot get this fixed. We feel we should have had a room comped or something but it seemed like it was not a big deal to them so we will not be staying here any longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Brian, I am very embarrassed by your experience at our hotel. I apologize for the issues you experienced in your room. An alarm going off with no resolution is very frustrating. While we were able to move you to another room, this was inconvenient and there appeared to be another issue in that room as well. I am most apologetic that our desk clerks did not do more to correct the problem or bring this to a manager's attention for resolution. Again, my most profuse apologies. If there is any thing further we can do to correct the problem, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel. Tom C. General Manager