Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Great place

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Amazing experience, all you could want in a hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, Idaho

Disappointed

Posted Jan 30, 2017
This hotel stay was a gift to the parents of the children I nanny. I specifically chose this hotel because of the restaurant and bar. The plan was for them to have a nice evening out and brunch in the morning. Unfortunately, a pipe burst and the bar and restaurant had to close. They then had to go to a separate location for evening and morning meals as well as enjoying a nightcap. No compensation was offered. I expected more from The Modern.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Michal, Hotel Management
Dear Ang, I’m sorry to hear that your guests missed our fabulous bar and restaurant. I can understand your disappointment, but I do need to share with you that closing the bar isn’t a regular occurrence. We had a weather-related leak in the dining room, so we had to close to allow for the repairs. Otherwise the bar is open every evening from 4 pm until close. I sent emails to notify everyone, but it sounds like you didn’t get yours. We of course what to make amends and will be contacting you privately. It has been a heck of a winter for many here in Idaho with the crazy amount of snow fall. Best regards, Michal Lloyd Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Great room with lots of amenities! Nice bar/restaurant. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Texas

Very nice hotel and really nice rooms.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The hotel's atmosphere was very positive and mellow, and the staff was very courteous and genuinely care about you and want to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I will stay at the Modern every time I am in Boise on business and for any other visit as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016
This was my second stay at The Modern. I'm local but love to stay here when doing a mini staycation in Boise; especially with the winter weather. The room was simple, stylish, clean & comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Michal , Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of the Modern Hotel and Bar. We look forward to your third stay! Have a happy holiday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Will be back!

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Overnight getaway. Very impressed with everything. Cocktails and appetizers were exceptional!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Michal Lloyd, Hotel Management
Randy, Thank you for visiting the Modern Hotel and Bar. Happy trails. Michal Lloyd Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Very clean hotel within walking distance to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Michal, Hotel Management
Kerry, Thank you for review. Our staff works hard to make sure our rooms are clean and inviting for our guests. Thank you for staying at the Modern Hotel. We look forward to your return. Best, Michal -- hotel manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Modern and Hip hotel in the heart of Boise

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: You can tell they spent time & money and cared about the refurbishment of this property. The accommodations are very modern and make the price point very attractive. The amenities provided are also very nice. The restaurant has great food with a dynamic menu that is locally sourced and changes frequently. The bar has unique, craft cocktails and if you don't see something you like, the bartender will make something delicious for you. The staff is super friendly - check in, bar and restaurant - all get a thumbs up from me. They also have very nice fire pits in the front with tables and chairs for relaxing in the evening.
Cons: This is a great property. It still had a motel-ish vibe to it which I'm not 100% comfortable with but overall it was a nice property.
Location: This is just a couple block away from lots of local shops and restaurants & the heart of downtown Boise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Michal, Hotel Management
Mimmachine, Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to your return visit. Best regards, Michal Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, United States of America

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Wonderful staff! Recommended a room based on our preferences, and checked a couple of times to make sure everything was up to our expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

clean, comfortable, and cool

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Conveniently located in boise not far from airport and downtown.
A very hip update to an old motel. The rooms are attractive and very clean. The bathroom is roomy, conveniently designed and very clean. The bed is very comfortable. They have bikes you canborrow, a nice lounge attached, and an ever evolving festival if short films on the tv. I really enjoyed my stay and will be back.