Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Great room with lots of amenities! Nice bar/restaurant. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Texas

Very nice hotel and really nice rooms.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The hotel's atmosphere was very positive and mellow, and the staff was very courteous and genuinely care about you and want to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I will stay at the Modern every time I am in Boise on business and for any other visit as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016
This was my second stay at The Modern. I'm local but love to stay here when doing a mini staycation in Boise; especially with the winter weather. The room was simple, stylish, clean & comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Michal , Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of the Modern Hotel and Bar. We look forward to your third stay! Have a happy holiday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Will be back!

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Overnight getaway. Very impressed with everything. Cocktails and appetizers were exceptional!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Michal Lloyd, Hotel Management
Randy, Thank you for visiting the Modern Hotel and Bar. Happy trails. Michal Lloyd Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Very clean hotel within walking distance to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Michal, Hotel Management
Kerry, Thank you for review. Our staff works hard to make sure our rooms are clean and inviting for our guests. Thank you for staying at the Modern Hotel. We look forward to your return. Best, Michal -- hotel manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Modern and Hip hotel in the heart of Boise

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: You can tell they spent time & money and cared about the refurbishment of this property. The accommodations are very modern and make the price point very attractive. The amenities provided are also very nice. The restaurant has great food with a dynamic menu that is locally sourced and changes frequently. The bar has unique, craft cocktails and if you don't see something you like, the bartender will make something delicious for you. The staff is super friendly - check in, bar and restaurant - all get a thumbs up from me. They also have very nice fire pits in the front with tables and chairs for relaxing in the evening.
Cons: This is a great property. It still had a motel-ish vibe to it which I'm not 100% comfortable with but overall it was a nice property.
Location: This is just a couple block away from lots of local shops and restaurants & the heart of downtown Boise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Michal, Hotel Management
Mimmachine, Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to your return visit. Best regards, Michal Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, United States of America

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Wonderful staff! Recommended a room based on our preferences, and checked a couple of times to make sure everything was up to our expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

clean, comfortable, and cool

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Conveniently located in boise not far from airport and downtown.
A very hip update to an old motel. The rooms are attractive and very clean. The bathroom is roomy, conveniently designed and very clean. The bed is very comfortable. They have bikes you canborrow, a nice lounge attached, and an ever evolving festival if short films on the tv. I really enjoyed my stay and will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, United States of America

What an unexpected delight!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Everything, top to bottom.
Location: Right in downtown Boise near all the restaurants, bars, and clubs. If you're in town for a game, Boise State isn't that far either.
When I pulled up, I didn't expect the quality and comfort that the this hotel had. The room was so up to date with design and style. The bed and pillows were so comfortable, I could have laid there all day. The bathroom/shower reminded me of something that comes out of a catalog. The staff is super friendly and accommodating, both at the front desk and restaurant/bar. Starting with a welcome gift when I arrived and then when I asked for a late check out, there was no problem at all. The food and drinks are inventive and so amazing! If I could give it a 10 star rating, I would. Can't wait to come back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decide whether you want to be a bar or a hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Nice to see a modernized Travel Lodge. The design and updating was great.
Cons: Bar; the lack of concern for guests as to the noise level of the bar. Recommendation for breakfast didn't include Big City-across the street & YUM!!!
Positives - Very friendly and helpful staff; good, clean room and lobby; location close to downtown; bikes available for use by hotel guests. Negatives - We had a room right above the bar on Friday and Saturday nights. Loud noise level until after midnight. Even though we were given earplugs, had a hard time sleeping. Either the rooms around the bar should not be utilized on popular nights or the bar area should be moved to another area. We did try the bar after reading several positive reviews on it - Drinks were VERY different. Hard to find something that we liked and there were 4 of us. Before serving a drink, if there is something unique about it, i.e., beer with carbonation resembling champagne, the server should tell you that at the time of ordering. Would not go back to the bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Michal , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you felt we have a tidy hotel and you enjoyed the bikes. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the bar, especially since we are in this together—the bar and the hotel. We used to have music in the courtyard and we’ve had our share of events that gathered a lively crowd. Now we email our guests that if they prefer to be away from the action, they should request a quiet room away from the bar. I admire what our bar and restaurant staff has created. They have challenged me personally-- a gal who likes a good burger and a beer -- to try something new. They are always changing the menu to include local ingredients and original selections. So I recommend following their lead, as you might find a new favorite. Incidentally, they usually take back any item you aren’t satisfied with. The staff at the Modern Bar strives for excellence. I’m sorry we didn’t hit it off with you this time, but come back and go on another adventure with us. Warm Regards, Michal Hotel Manager