Ratings based on 945 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Road

Great location, aesthetics, and a friendly staff.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Stopped here at the end of a week long road trip. Wish we could have stayed longer. Very comfortable, eat at big city coffee right up the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by MIchal Lloyd, hotel manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review. I hope you have time in the future to stop by and visit us again. Frequent visitors can ask for Member pricing and save by booking direct. Best, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, lively bar, super friendly staff!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Loved our stay, free bikes and all. And the price was right! Highly recommended!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They need to decide if they are a bar or a hotel.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Shower
The bar was just below our room, and there is a nice fire pit area just outside of the bar. It was very loud!!!! At 2am it finally calmed down. Either sound proof the rooms just be a bar. The food was awful! If you are traveling with teens or our part of the college crowd, this is the place for you. You can be loud, get drunk and generally run around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Provo

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Great place! So modern and clean, incredible location, and super friendly staff! Very welcoming!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting hotel, kind of "dorm" feel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Great staff, sheets and toiletries high end, but a little pricey for converted Travelodge and location. bar/restaurant was hopping and looked fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Great place

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Amazing experience, all you could want in a hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, Idaho

Disappointed

Posted Jan 30, 2017
This hotel stay was a gift to the parents of the children I nanny. I specifically chose this hotel because of the restaurant and bar. The plan was for them to have a nice evening out and brunch in the morning. Unfortunately, a pipe burst and the bar and restaurant had to close. They then had to go to a separate location for evening and morning meals as well as enjoying a nightcap. No compensation was offered. I expected more from The Modern.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Michal, Hotel Management
Dear Ang, I’m sorry to hear that your guests missed our fabulous bar and restaurant. I can understand your disappointment, but I do need to share with you that closing the bar isn’t a regular occurrence. We had a weather-related leak in the dining room, so we had to close to allow for the repairs. Otherwise the bar is open every evening from 4 pm until close. I sent emails to notify everyone, but it sounds like you didn’t get yours. We of course what to make amends and will be contacting you privately. It has been a heck of a winter for many here in Idaho with the crazy amount of snow fall. Best regards, Michal Lloyd Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Great room with lots of amenities! Nice bar/restaurant. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Texas

Very nice hotel and really nice rooms.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The hotel's atmosphere was very positive and mellow, and the staff was very courteous and genuinely care about you and want to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I will stay at the Modern every time I am in Boise on business and for any other visit as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AMAZING!!!

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing! The staff was friendly and extremely helpful! We had cocktails by the fire pit, wonderful!