Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice accomodations

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Clean, spacious room. The hotel staff put in the hours to make the rooms presentable--nothing was half-done.
Cons: The hotel serves breakfast-to-order and a buffet, but there was a lack of emphasis on anything besides the buffet. And shower water pressure was low.
Location: It's a 2-3 minute drive to downtown Boise, but the distance can be easily walked in fair weather.
Everything was pleasant, quiet, clean, and comfortable. The only complaint my husband and I had was that the shower water pressure left something to be desired. We availed ourselves of the shuttle-van to go downtown on the evening of our stay, and the driver was polite and professional. Overall, I recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Four day stay @ Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. Would stay again and recommend to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Older hotel but nice and clean

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Nice staff and great location. Rooms were clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Great Place close to everthing! Shuttle service was also Great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wa. state

Lacking

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Remote not working - Windows not clean - soft drink machine would only take quarters - very noise before 8 am nice bed - not very well signed to find elevators
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Comfy & cozy.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Cons: There was tea in the room but no way to heat the water other than the coffee pot, which would've made it taste like coffee.
Location: Shopping, dining, Boise State University, nightlife
Check in took a little long but they did let me have my room earlier than the 3pm listed time, and the lady at the front desk was sweet, so I can't complain. the room looked nice and the bed was comfortable, including the pillows, which for me was unexpected, as hotel pillows are typically hard and flat. Not here! I slept like a baby. Great experience. No complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Point

Great hotel in the heart of downtown Boise

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: The location is in downtown and is pretty close to major attractions. The Julia Davis park was only about 5 mins away from the hotel.
The location was easy to find with plenty of parking right there. We were really impressed with how inviting and modern the lobby was. The check in process was quick and easy. We noticed that there are bike rentals available since Boise is so bike friendly. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. We had a balcony and sliding glass door that we could open. Very comfortable beds and the bathroom was clean. They provided us with trendy body care products such as lavender & tea charcoal bath soap from Cascade Soapery and mint and aloe body lotion. Just nice touches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Entirely adequate

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: View of the mountains.
Cons: I miss carpet in the rooms.
The location and facility were fine. Located not far from the Boise downtown area. Parking lot was clean and safe feeling. Lobby was pleasant, as were the employees. There's nothing fancy about the hotel, but it's a solid 3 star. One odd thing was that the room had a wood floor, rather than the traditional carpet. It was basic and clean, but didn't feel very homey with that hard floor. The room itself was quiet, and the walls seemed to be built more solid than the usual hotel room. Decor was adequate. Room lighting better than average, with plenty of light and fixtures. Bathroom shower enclosure tile needed a bit of help with some fresh grout, but otherwise fine. I ended up paying more for the hotel that what I would have expected, and more than the rate posted in the room, so value for the money wasn't especially good for me. The pool looked inviting, although I didn't use it. The temperature was good, and the water seemed crystal clear and smelled good. Obviously well maintained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience. We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that you felt safe and that the staff was friendly. Beth Mathieson Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, OR

Comfortable stay

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Room service staff was so friendly and professional. Bed and pillows were very comfy.
Cons: Bathroom should have a second look after cleaning to catch any missing "spots".
Location: This was the Boise, ID location. Right in downtown and close to all the restaurants and bars.
My stay was comfortable. The room was nice over all. However, the bathroom could have been a little cleaner, ie.: the tub/shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience. We appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the housekeeping issues. I will pass your comments on to the appropriate parties Beth Mathieson Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Twin Falls, Id.

Dated and run down.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The coffee bar was about the best thing there.
Cons: General appearance, and up keep.
Location: Very close to downtown and lots of good restaurants close by. Also close to the zoo, botanical gardens, etc.
I did not like the cheap wood floors. I prefer carpet in a hotel for the quiet factor. The room was decent, but not worth the price. Staff was very polite and professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that the staff was polite and professional. Thank you for staying with us. Beth Mathieson Front Office Manager