Ratings based on 793 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Great Hotel very central.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Efficiency and friendliness of the staff. Standard of cleanliness very high. Very attractive decor.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to the main square Piazza Maggiore. Other tourist attractions within short walking distance. Wonderful restaurants in area adjoining square.
We had five wonderful days in Bologna. The staff at the Hotel were amazing. We stayed in an apartment and were provided with a Nespresso machine as we indicated that we would like like a really nice coffee in the morning. Any requests were dealt with immediately and with friendliness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from kent

live with the locals

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: the staff were most helpful
Cons: open the restaurant an hour earlier
Location: very convenient location,all attractions could be walked too.
after a long difficult journey it was a pleasure to be welcomed in a very friendly way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Uk

Very Nice Hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Almost everything, especially the convenient location.
Cons: A little noisy from the side street, perhaps better sound proofing.
Location: Central to all of Bologna's sightseeing and restaurants.
Very comfortable and location excellent for central Bologna. In a side street which was a little noisy at times with people coming back late a night. Staff very helpful. An excellent restaurant attached to hotel. Would certainly use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Windsor

Great location. Rooms very comfortable and clean.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Liked the location and the quirky themed rooms - great fun.
Location: Within a two minute walk of Piazza Maggiore. So many things to do!
Really enjoyed our stay here. The location is perfect for exploring the centre of Bologna. The reception staff were very helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel other than one day for breakfast when we needed to be out early. There was a good choice of items on the buffet and is was perfectly fine for the 10 euros all in fee. Our room was very comfortable. Air conditioning was good. Given we were on the second floor above the front door of the hotel the location was quiet, just a little traffic noise now and again if you had the windows open as you would expect for a central hotel. We were also opposite the lift but never heard any noise from guest/staff using the lift. The room was very clean and the mini bar well stocked. Toiletries, robes and slippers were provided and each evening an information sheet for things to do and some lovely chocolate/sweets were left on the bed - a nice touch! We would definitely recommend to our friends/family and should we return to Bologna would book this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England,wirral

great hotel

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Loved this hotel,location second to none,lovely large room 206,great staff.
Location: take the tourist train/tram from square to san luca great view of city and abit of fun.
Had a three day stay in Bologna in May,just loved the city will definitely return.Great restaurants,bars,and atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Scotland

Al Capello Rosso - The perfect place to stay.

Posted May 16, 2017
Our first visit to Italy was perfect thanks to the fantastic experience and beautiful accommodation provided by the lovely people at Al Cappello Rosso. It's the oldest hotel in Bologna, and is situated in the centre of the historic town, literally ten steps from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore, on a quiet cobbled street. We stayed in one of the gorgeous De' Celestini Suites just a few steps from the hotel. 'La Torre' is an attic apartment in a beautiful old building, with gorgeous wooden beams and plush furnishings. Two huge Kingsize bedrooms, two bathrooms, a lovely lounge with two sets of double windows that look out over the street; and a fantastic fitted kitchen complete with all mod cons including limitless coffee, juice and bottled water. The decoration is sublime reflecting perfectly the art and culture of Bologna. Fabio and Deborah were so helpful; nothing was any trouble and they provided everything we needed to make our stay completely perfect. I can't recommend this beautiful hotel and it's people highly enough. Bologna is such a cool vibrant city, and when you visit, you gotta stay at Al Cappello Rosso. Fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jensen Beach, FLORIDA

Great hotel in the middle of the old town

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Though tricky to navigate in a car, the location of this hotel is perfect for exploring the old town. The room was the largest we experienced in three weeks of Italian hotels. Staff was great. Parking is available within steps of the hotel. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bologna

Just perfect

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ideal location so close to all places of interest
A wonderful boutique hotel just a stone's throw from the main square and within walking distance of everywhere of interest in this delightful city. Quirky rooms but with every amenity - even tea and coffee making - and turn down service in the evening with slippers put by the bed. Lovely helpful friendly staff. Good breakfast spread at very reasonable price and cosy restaurant for lunch or dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Excellent hotel in heart of Bologna

Posted Apr 29, 2017
From check in to check out the hotel was faultless. Rooms were spotless and the room themes added to the effect. One minutes stroll from Piazza Maggiore and all of the main sights are within 15 minutes walk. Whether you want culture, shopping or just watch the world go by from a street cafe with a good glass of vino, it is the place for you. On my return to Bologna I won't be booking any other hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel right in the centre of town

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Teacups
Location: Bologna a very interesting and old city with fantastic food
Cannot fault this hotel. We where upgraded to the apartments which where a 30 second walk from Piazza Maggiore. The apartments where very clean well equipped and right next to a cafe. The staff where very helpful.