Ratings based on 806 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, Uk

A real gem!

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: Perfect location with all the shops and restaurants on the doorstep.
Fantastic quirky hotel just off the main square, Loved the themed bedroom - a work of art. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast room was a delight and the selection of food was excellent. Will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts, USA

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, good AC, staff
Spent a wonderful 4 nights here. Clean, comfortable, and very helpful staff. Location can't be beat if you want to see the historic center of Bologna. Right off Piazza Maggiore, easy walk to restaurants, museums, shops. Quirky room decor as others have mentioned. Typical of most older European hotels, rooms on the small side and a few older fixtures, but bathroom was modern and everything worked. Comfortable bed. We did not have a car so I can't comment on parking - easy to get a taxi to the airport, etc., 20 minute walk to Bologna Centrale train station, felt safe enroute as lone female. I will definitely be back at this hotel next time I visit Bologna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from LONDON

lovely hotel very central to the main square

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: CENTRAL LOCATION QUIRKY SPOTLESS NICE STAFF
Location: CENTRAL NEAR THE MAIN SQUARE,MARKETS LOVELY RESTAURANTS
LOVED BOLOGNA THE ATMOSPHERE, THE STREET MARKETS THE PORTICO'S, THE ITALIAN PEOPLE. THE HOTEL WAS PERFECTLY SITUATED TO WALK AROUND THE CITY. LOVELY SHOPS ,BASILICA'S , BEAUTIFUL OLD BUIDINGS STEEPED IN HISTORY
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guildford uk

Al Capello Rosso Bologna

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Small, friendly, helpful staff who suggested excecellent restaurants.
Cons: Slight smell of drains on entry to room. The theme in our room was dark and a bit oppressive but we requested twin beds so might be the only twin
Location: Portico walk to San Luca, Piazza San Stefano church, restaurants in square. Small restaurant Pane et Panelle, Ice cream on via Castiglione 44
Wonderful city, lots to do, great food and wine see below
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great hotel in heart of Bologna.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: All above.
Cons: Above, but very minor things.
Location: Ideal location close to main square, bars and restaurants.
Spotlessly clean, friendly and helpful staff, perfect location close to Piazza, really nice room. Would have preferred bar to remain open a little later and question whether bed linen needed changed every day, but otherwise an excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winchester

Great location

Posted May 29, 2017
Great stay, fab location close to everything. Staff great and breakfast varied and delicious. A lovely city for a weekend break
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Great Hotel very central.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Efficiency and friendliness of the staff. Standard of cleanliness very high. Very attractive decor.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to the main square Piazza Maggiore. Other tourist attractions within short walking distance. Wonderful restaurants in area adjoining square.
We had five wonderful days in Bologna. The staff at the Hotel were amazing. We stayed in an apartment and were provided with a Nespresso machine as we indicated that we would like like a really nice coffee in the morning. Any requests were dealt with immediately and with friendliness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from kent

live with the locals

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: the staff were most helpful
Cons: open the restaurant an hour earlier
Location: very convenient location,all attractions could be walked too.
after a long difficult journey it was a pleasure to be welcomed in a very friendly way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Uk

Very Nice Hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Almost everything, especially the convenient location.
Cons: A little noisy from the side street, perhaps better sound proofing.
Location: Central to all of Bologna's sightseeing and restaurants.
Very comfortable and location excellent for central Bologna. In a side street which was a little noisy at times with people coming back late a night. Staff very helpful. An excellent restaurant attached to hotel. Would certainly use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Windsor

Great location. Rooms very comfortable and clean.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Liked the location and the quirky themed rooms - great fun.
Location: Within a two minute walk of Piazza Maggiore. So many things to do!
Really enjoyed our stay here. The location is perfect for exploring the centre of Bologna. The reception staff were very helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel other than one day for breakfast when we needed to be out early. There was a good choice of items on the buffet and is was perfectly fine for the 10 euros all in fee. Our room was very comfortable. Air conditioning was good. Given we were on the second floor above the front door of the hotel the location was quiet, just a little traffic noise now and again if you had the windows open as you would expect for a central hotel. We were also opposite the lift but never heard any noise from guest/staff using the lift. The room was very clean and the mini bar well stocked. Toiletries, robes and slippers were provided and each evening an information sheet for things to do and some lovely chocolate/sweets were left on the bed - a nice touch! We would definitely recommend to our friends/family and should we return to Bologna would book this hotel again.