Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great little place. Modern charm and history too.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Nice staff, On site restaurant is simple and, reasonable and popular. Statues in internal courtyard are charming. In room wifi handy.
Cons: Room décor is quirky. I loved it but some may find it not traditional. Our room did not have a makeup mirror, though bathroom one did the job.
Location: Absolutely spot on. Just on Piazza Maggiore but on quiet street. Bologna on your doorstep. Do Taste Bologna food tour.
Hotel is very centrally located. Staff exceptionally helpful. There are lots of welcoming little touches like book swaps, pillow menu and cosy welcoming lounge. On site restaurant is simple and everything you need. Room not huge but is has all you want and very well appointed sparkling clean bathroom. I would highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Location, location, location!! Brilliant.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Funky hotel, so close to all Bologna has to offer. Try and get a room away from the front of the hotel, it can be noisy at night!! Staff friendly and full of advise.
Cons: Just that our room overlooked the busy throughfare.
Location: Bologna is a gem. Full of delights. Everywhere you walk, the architecture is stunning. Food is amazing. Don,t be on a diet!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Freundliches Personal mitten im Zentrum

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Zentraler geht es nicht: 1 Minute von der Piazza Maggiore, inmitten der Altstadt mit wunderbaren Geschäften und Restaurants.
Sehr angenehmer Aufenthalt. Es stimmte alles: Freundliches Personal, sehr sauberes, gut ausgestattetes Zimmer, modernes und sauberes Bad, gutes Restaurant im Hause, zentrale und dennoch ruhige Lage inmitten der Altstadt mit all diesen hinreissenden Modegeschäften und Läden voller kulinarischer Köstlichkeiten aus der Region. Ich war ein langes Wochenende extra nur zum Essen da. Und es hat sich so gelohnt!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GREAT CLACTON


Posted Oct 12, 2016
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Perfect location 2 minutes from piazza maggiore. Lots of great restaurants and bars close by
The staff were very friendly and helpful and responded quickly to any requests. It was quite noisy outside our apartment but only on the first night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent location.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Housekeeping and location
Cons: Communication and care.
Location: Right next to Piazza Maggiore.
The hotel is centrally located and is very near bars and restaurants and the pretty streets of Bologna. It was very clean with clean linen every day......superb housekeeping. It was all a bit impersonal, in the doors, straight up the stairs with reception a bit disinterested. We were attracted to the hotel by the amazing quirky room decor but ours was very plain and right opposite the hotel Roma's garage. Very noisy. Avoid 107. The night we planned to eat in the hotel the restaurant was shut......a bit more communication with us as guests would have been good. Also the taxes were more than Expedia told us they would be. But overall I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprising hotel decor

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel was five minutes walking distance to main piazza and 15 minutes to the alleyways of the old town .
When we arrived it was without our luggage which had been lost enroute. When Antonella the receptionist heard about this she immediately took it upon herself to pursue the matter with KLM much to our relief. Throughout our stay it was always a pleasure to see her smile. The rest of the staff were excellent as well and responded quickly to any request we had. The décor and cleanliness of the room was outstanding.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west Mids uk

excellent hotel right in the heart of Bolonga

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: Hotel resteruant Menu
Location: Central location to all attractions and bars etc
From being met at the airport by hotel taxi to being dropped of at airport again by hotel taxi we were treated with extreme politeness by all connected Cappello Rosso .Bedroom as good as you would expect in a higher class hotel, , daily room service/cleanliness with bed linen changed daily excellent, bath room toiletries first class Breakfast although a lot more than the basic continental breakfast was of a first class nature and well worth the 10 euro charge. One Item I would alter to make Al Cappello Rosso even more appealing would possibly improve the resturant to offer a higher standard evening dinner menu Overall a first rate hotel worthy of the 4* rating
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca bay area

You really should stay here

Posted Sep 23, 2016
I'm sure the other reviews will tell you how quirky the themed rooms are. We stayed in the "presidential suite", it was JFK themed. Yeah, that was a little weird, but I couldn't help but smile. Room was very clean and housekeeping was done twice a day! Staff was incredibly helpful and spoke English. Location was incredible, just a two minute walk to the Piazza Maggiore and Basilica di San Petronio, you could probably walk there in less than a minute if you walk fast. The Neptune fountain was under restoration when we there 9/16 but it was available to see the behind the covering to view the restoration of you get a ticket from the tourist center. It was still impressive even though it wasn't functioning at the time. Short walk to Bologna centrale. Tons of shopping and wonderful food options.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel in an excellent location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We booked a standard room. The room was comfortable and kept very well. The location was fantastic. I would not hesitate to recommend or stay here again. Also, the breakfast was good and the service during breakfast was very friendly.