Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from moscow

OK, but not too comfy

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
First of all, Tiziana who hosted us is a very nice, cordial lady and we all would like to thank her. The appartment however has some nuances to consider. 1. It is dangerously near the ZTL zone , so you need to forget your GPS and carrfully follow the instructions sent by Tiziana 2. It has no lift, so you have to walk the stairs to the 1st floor (not much of a problem), and then struggle it up (and the next day down) a very narrow and steep staircase. Feels a bit like Sisyphus... 3. With 2 extra beds the appartment is a bit too small for the family of 4. Or maybe we just had been spoiled by the spacious Florence apoartment we had just lived in. 4. It has no fridge and no glasses, even plastic ones. Those are available however in the common area downstairs used by other appartments as a kitchen and by the owners as an office. We did not find it very comfortable. 5. You cannot have capucino for breakfast as there is no coffee machine. I am not sure about espresso.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
I felt like I was in someone's home... the breakfasts and cakes made by Tanzia were amazing... Highly recommend this wonderful B and B!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great breakfast, with lots of variety, good coffee and warm service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Reigate

Casa Ilaria

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Perfect central Bologna location with almost everything within a short walk and just divine hospitality. Permanent aromas of baking prepare you for the hand made breakfasts. Room was bigger than most hotels and extremely well appointed. Set in the heart of the worlds oldest university district but in our room you could hear a pin drop. Would recommend it over a hotel any time. Never done a B&B on a city break, always looked at budget hotels as we will be out all the time but this place has changed my mind.
5 out of 5
by David from Wilmette

bologna b & b

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
The most comfortable bed ever. However a bit difficult to get to. The hostess did send me directions but she put them in an attachment that did not come through to my phone. The message she sent was just asking what tone we would arrive. She should of mentioned that there was a particular way to get to her location. TLZ zones all around her. She did take our plate number and hopefully we will not get any tickets but very stressful getting to her location.
4 out of 5
by Ronald from Florence, Italy

A pleasant and comfortable place in Bologna

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
The Ilaria is a comfortable hotel with an excellent breakfast of home-cooked cakes and pastries, with eggs available on request. The staff are friendly and efficient. The one fault we found is that the bathroom is off the hall next to the room, but as it was only for our private use that was a very minor consideration. For opera fans, the Ilaria is particularly convenient, located almost across the street from the Teatro Comunale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great location for sightseeing

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Great homemade cakes etc at breakfast & nicely decorated rooms. Nice and quite considering so close to local bars.
Cons: Shame the lift wasn't working
Location: Central for historical sites & museums. Short walk to the Asinelli tower and Piazza Maggiore etc. Local bars and restaurants close by.
Would highly recommend. Warm welcome from Tiziana and tips on what to see and good places to eat. The house and rooms were comfortable and full of character. Made a nice change from your standard hotel. Although our twin room wasn't ensuite, we had the bathroom next door to ourselves.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location in Bologna Centro

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels
Pros: Clean room. Convenient location. Simple, good breakfast. Cons: Bathroom outside room. Checkout at 10:00 am.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, lovely host

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels
A lovely place, in a perfect location 10 minutes walk from the main Bologna sights. I'm not a big B&B fan, but this was something different: a real taste of Italian hospitality. And possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Better than Five Star!

Posted Apr 7, 2012 on Hotels
A very charming, intimate and cosy place right in the centre of town. A family run establishment combining Sicilian charm and Bolognese efficency. For this senior citizen couple, it had more to offer than a five star hotel! Thank you for directing me to this pearl of a guest house!