Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Close to the train station

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location to train station, 15 min walk to main sights, quiet
Cons: Everything
Location: Train station, Modern art museum, Laundromat down the street
This hotel is close to the train station which is what we were looking for, and one of the front desk clerks was wonderful but thats about where it ends. We stayed 5 days - the AC is not on durning the day (but thats seems normal in Italy) and from what we could tell was controlled by management (our last night we had no AC although it was 20 outside the room was very hot). Our room was dated but did have Wi-fi. The bathroom was something else. It has several good restaurants around it and the breakfast is good. For one night you can tough it out for 5 we tried to find a hotel for at least one other night in a different city. The key (old school actual key) to our room was very hard to work so by night two we kept the door unlocked while we slept - if there was an emergency we would never get out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Within walking distance from Bologna Centrale.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Location - nice walk to reach shops or square and take in surrounding area, plus not too far from station.
Cons: Check ceilings or corners for creepy crawlies and take them out of rooms. Check around sink area too, we had to wash away small insects around tap.
Location: Visit shops, restaurants or the square with fountain - that was unfortunately under restoration.
The room was clean, but there was a spider on the ceiling in the bathroom. I don't like spiders. Breakfast OK, with variety. Quiet room, comfortable beds. Flowers on the staircase going upstairs had seen better days, too dusty or mouldy not sure which one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Close to the centre of the city, wish we stayed longer!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprised

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: unfortunately we didn't like this hotel
Cons: many things
Location: not too bad a location
My partner and I travel to Italy up to 5 times a year and have always had great experience with the hotels and staff. unfortunately the hotel Astoria was not one of them. the staff were not interested in any form of hospitality, and the cleanliness was not to a good standard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Location: There is a really nice restaurant with boat themed decor slightly Northwest around the corner, would highly recommend it.
Very conveniently located for my purposes, but expected a little better for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Very central and quiet

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Simple breakfast but tasty. Very good coffee. It's a quiet simple place to stay. With the flight deal a it was a good option to stay in Bologna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Near the best Bolognese restaurants!

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Great central location, clean, comfortable and most courteous staff. We stayed when there were no business conferences in Bologna so our rate was a great value for a hotel of this quality. Don't know what rates are when there's a convention or two and all hotels are booked at top price. Nice breakfast buffet with good cheese and salumi, more than most hotels offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, O

Convenient, clean, and comfortable

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: I thought it excellent value, providing all one really needed. The location was ideal, since it was between the train station and the town center.
Location: It's basically in a working-class/middle-class area; the nearest eateries are inexpensive and unpretentious. There are cafes/bars.
The Astoria Hotel is located a short walk from Bologna train station, and is within walking distance of the center of the city. It is a smallish, affordable place, on a quiet street. The check-in was fast and efficient, and matter-of-fact. The clientele seemed (at breakfast time) to be a mix of tourists and young men on business trips. I had a small single room with all the basics but not designed for sitting around in; the bathroom was small and all the fittings very new and worked well. The shower was small, but not the smallest I've met in Italy! Everything was spotlessly clean. Bare floors; rather hard bed, but the room was very quiet, so I slept well. Plenty of wardrobe hanging space, but no drawers for clothes. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a lot of choice; the usual Italian offerings of cold meats and cheeses, cereals, fruit, yogurt, sweet pastries, etc. Piazza dei Martiri is a couple of blocks away, with plenty of shopping, including small food shops (take-away) and inexpensive eateries. And it's on the way to the center of town, with a choice of interesting streets to walk along. You can walk to plenty of the main attractions (churches, museums, etc.). On leaving the station (if you arrive by train), bear to the right through the courtyard, and you'll see a pedestrian crossing (traffic lights) to take you over a very busy ring road. After crossing the street, keep going on the street straight ahead (via G. Amendola) toward the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Nice place to stay. nothing too fancy but good

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: It was handy for our plans and clean.The room was large and quiet although the hotel was full.
Cons: Make sure the air conditioning is turned on in the evening.
Location: The railway station was 5 minutes walk. It was 15 minutes into the historic centre.There was a very popular restaurant next door.
The one thing that was annoying was that we had to keep asking for the air conditioning to be turned on. It did not feel that warm to them. Overall it was a very comfortable stay and a good hotel. The buffet breakfast was good and they kept it topped up all the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room with view

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The beautiful room was very comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious. The room had a balcony with a great view.
Cons: The staff did not seem very open and didn't really like to help us. AC needs to be better, or set to a lower temperature.
Location: It is within walking distance to all the attractions of Bologna as well as the train station.
The room itself was relatively spacious and very new. It was very well decorated so it was comfortable to stay in. The bathroom was huge and very elegant looking. However, the wifi was slow and only worked on smart phones but not computers for some reason. The website claimed to have AC but is only turned on after 2pm each day. The AC is set to one temperature and you cannot adjust it so it was still too hot for us. We opened a window which helped, but then we had a mosquito problem.