Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Convenient for the old town.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Location: The area isn't touristy but there are some great bars nearby both inside and outside the old town boundary.
10 min walk to Piazza Maggiore on the edge of the old town. A quiet back street but within two blocks you're in a busy area with cafes and a supermarket. The hotel is small but very comfortable. An ample breakfast is in the conservatory across the garden. Best of all though are the staff. Every one without any exceptions are lovely. So helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Luckily for us they all spoke perfect English. We changed rooms because we wanted a bath and not just a shower and we were shown all available rooms and they seemed genuinely concerned that we found the right room. Fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

wonderful hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2017
great location, peace and quiet with excellent staff and delicious breakfasts. Definately highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, N.Y.

Your home away from home in Bologna

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Great staff, comfortable room and good location.
This was our third stay .The staff goes out of their way to be helpful .The location is within walking distance to the center of the city as well as being a few blocks from the roadway that encircles the city and the two buses that ( 33&32) that we used extensively.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good location -10 mins walk to centre. Very quiet

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Very good stay in small, well run hotel. Nice breakfast room in garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Unique

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Very good breakfast. Located close to city centre and attractions.
Loved this hotel. One you get past the Lobby the Hotel has great character and old world charm. Would definitely return to this location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Hotel in a good location

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Good Hotel inside the city. Less that 10 minutes walk to the centre. Located in a quiet area. Very friendly staff who were always on hand to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Delightful Traditional Italian Hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Quiet location in a pleasant area of the city, around 20 minutes walk to the centre. 20 minutes to the airport by taxi, with drop-off parking.
Quiet and comfortable room, overlooking the courtyard. Very comfortable double bed, with a large bathroom, two basins, excellent shower, toilet and bidet. Good heating and air conditioning, all controllable in the room. Small walk-in wardrobe with good hanging space and a set of drawers. The room was spotlessly clean, and cleaned and tidied everyday by friendly housekeeping staff. Breakfast taken in the courtyard is excellent, with a wide variety of choices including pastries, fresh fruit, cheeses, hams and cooked choices. Fresh coffee and tea served by friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

A delightful hotel.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: We left with a feeling of having been made very welcome to Bologna.
Cons: No tea /coffee making facility in the bedroom.
Location: The centre of Bologna was within about 12 minutes of the hotel. An excellent restaurant 'Sangiovese' just at the end of the road but DO book.
A lovely hotel, centrally placed but in a quiet area. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The room would have benefitted from a comfortable chair to sit in after a day of sightseeing and tea/coffee making facilities but the bed was very comfortable!
5 out of 5
by Maryann from Teaneck

A country inn-hotel in Bologna!

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Puerta San Mamolo is a lovely hotel that feels like a small Inn, a ten minute walk to Piazza Maggiore, where the tourist sites and action are. You leave the hotel and make a couple of turns before walking straight into town. Our room was large and well appointed with great a.c. Getting to the room is quirky - small stairs up and down, but upon arrival, the staff helps and once you get settled in, you are great! Breakfast is just lovely in an outdoor space with the option for enclosed or open air breakfast. We felt like we lived somewhere in Italy and weren't just tourists for the four days we spent in Bologna and most of that had to do with the excellent service, the lovely accommodations and the friendly and professional attitude of the staff at Hotel Mamolo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Not far from city and park, small garden area

Posted Aug 10, 2016
An unusual hotel with some rooms off the garden area. Nice bathrooms, terrace area for summer breakfasts. 2 restaurants in the same quiet street. Large park nearby - Giardini Marguerita. City centre walkable.