Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad but not great

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location is fantastic.
Cons: Being more hospitable to 'senza glutine'.
Hotel location is the best thing. Room clean but beds very firm. Staff not friendly at all even when trying to speak Italian to them. Couldn't accommodate dietary requirements for breakfast, although other smaller 2 star hotels have been able to. Breakfast was very basic, better eating out locally. However, if you just want a basic set up as a place to put your head then this would do fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Ideal location for university

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location
We used this hotel as a base to explore Bologna and find permanent student accommodation, which we did all on foot. Clean, straightforward, value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from Cambridge

Good value hotel close to centre

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast, apart from the coffee. Quiet street. Blinds on the windows.
Cons: Noisy fan in the bathroom.
Location: The basilica of St Martin is just round the corner. The Pinacoteca (art gallery) is not far away. Most of the streets are attractive with colonades.
There is nothing pretentious about this hotel, but it is quiet and convenient and offers good value for money. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are well-equipped with comfortable beds and the en suite had shower and bidet and plenty of towels. It was a short walk to the 'two towers and from there to Piazza Maggiore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Great location at the right price

Posted Nov 10, 2011
We spent 3 fantastic nights at Hotel University and found it to be superb. Its location in the old town makes it perfectly placed for you to experience all that Bologna has to offer. It is also relatively cheap and is definitely value for money. In addition, we found the staff to be very attentive. Before staying at this hotel we read some reviews complaining about the noise of the bar below the hotel. While the bar is quite lively we weren't disturbed at night and were able to sleep soundly. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good value, 3 star hotel in the centre of Bologna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Tayport., Fife

Down town Bologna

Posted Jul 31, 2008
Friendly , courteous staff a clean environment and thank God for the a/c! Very centrally situated with lots of excellent eateries. Breakfast was self service with a breakfast waitress to handle the coffee machine , a variety of fruit juice, cereals, pastries, cooked ham , hard boiled eggs and yoghurts. There is a noisy bar next to the hotel and the street cleaning starts early but Sunday and Monday mornings were quiet. Bus to the station a couple of minutes walk from hotel. The Due Torre and Piazza Maggiore both a 5 min walk. Hotel stairs and lower half of walls were carpeted but our room on the 2nd floor had fully tiled bathroom and wooden floored bedroom . An excellent spot for either tourist or business person.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They sent me to another hotel....

Posted Jul 16, 2008
When I arrived to the Hotel they mentioned something about a problem, and they had to move me to another hotel. So I can not tell you anything about this Hotel University.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

very good for the money

Posted Jul 5, 2008
nice.. fun young neighbourhood, as one would expect from university area.. good service.. Having air conditioner was a blissful delight when it 34C heat on the street! breakfast could have been better, but may be I should not expect omelet in Italy :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mobile, AL

not my style

Posted Jul 11, 2007
I guess I'm really a 4* hotel type. The bathroom was just "ok", shower too small, beds were comfy,
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Rugby

Quality Hotel for reasonable prices.

Posted Aug 15, 2006
The hotel was situated in a good loaction at the centre with plenty of bars, shops and restaurants closeby. The room was clean with a spacious bathroom. I would definitely recomend it for a weekend break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Hotel comodo per visitare il centro e l'università

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Esperienza positiva nel complesso. Camera pulita ma un po' rumorosa perché affacciava su una stradina con alcuni ristoranti. Colazione ok.