Ratings based on 592 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Convenient comfortable hotel by train station

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Noise - hallways have no carpet and it gets noisy
My mom and I picked this hotel for its convenient location. It is less than 10 min walk from train station and probably less than 15 min from the main piazza. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. They have a small restaurant next to hotel for to go food, and we picked food there at night. Decent food and affordable prices. We had breakfast at the hotel and it had a good selection of cold and hot dishes. The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed waking up and looking at the ceiling afresco. The shower was great! When we got back to the room at night there was chocolate and a candle, thoughtful touch. The only con was the noise - not only street noise, but also hallway noise. The hotel was high ceilings and no carpet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by Simone Gentile - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Juliana, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at I Portici Hotel - Bologna. It is a pleasure for us reading your words. We hope to welcome you again soon, Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tanzania

Clean and modern hotel

Posted May 30, 2017
The hotel staff were very friendly, accommodating and offered wonderful suggestions for dining in the area. The location is perfect for a walk in the park and for plenty of shopping should you care to indulge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by Simone Gentile - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Fern, we are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are hoping to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairns, Australia

Very Nice hotel central to station and city centre

Posted May 19, 2017
The hotel was fantastic, was a close walk from the train station and was within easy walking distance to the town Centre. The staff all spoke English very very well and were helpful. There were a number of different choices for dinner and drinks within the hotel which were all very good! The only downside we had was the pillows in our room were incredibly uncomfortable so we had very little sleep. But I am finding that most pillows in Italian hotels are the same!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cheaper breakfast
Location: Beirut Cafe for lunch !!
We only stayed one night in a family room. Good location on the edge of the city centre. Nice bar with drinks on the balcony. Breakfast expensive if not part of your booking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
A lovely hotel just a short walk from the centre of town with lots of shops, restaurants and bars nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Well located for the city centre

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Training of staff
Location: Excellent for city centre and restaurants.
Twin room ok. Lighting poor especially the bathroom. Noisy as the room was above a terrace near the bar where the smokers congregated. Nice staff but hopelessly inefficient. No real understanding of customer focus. Breakfast in the cafe was a ridiculous system where everything was done by the customer although there were plenty of staff milling around they weren't actually doing anything fir the customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

always love it

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Location: in the heart of downtown.
always great. great rooms. great location. perfect upkeep.
5 out of 5
by Shannon

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel conveniently located near train station and center of Bologna. Walking distance to all. Clean, modern hotel. Great newly opened cafe with wonderful espresso and pastries. Professional, friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer L

Good place, but bring earplugs

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable room in good, central location. Easy walk to Piazza Maggiore and other major sights, and also a short walk to the train station. Staff were congenial and helpful. The only negative is the noise level coming into the room from the hallways -very loud whenever a neighboring room opens or closes its door, rolls suitcases down the hallway, etc. Definitelu bring earplugs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Nice Hotel and good location. The staff is not that friendly and the room was too cold the thermostat can not be adjusted to a different temperature so I was freezing