Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Convenient as close to station. Room was pretty dated and not in great condition, eg broken fixtures, alarm clock, hangers, etc. Bed wasn't the most comfortable either - soft springs and creaking. Checking in was pretty slow, but check out efficient. However, given the price, it is adequate if needing to be close to transport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Cinzia Zanni, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments after your stay in our hotel. We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies. We are aware that our hotel is a little old fashioned and need refurbishment and updated equipment. We already started with some works such as renewals of mattresses. We will keep on according to Company's budget. Your opinion for us is very important to improve our services and I thank you once again for taking the time to share it with us. We hope to welcome you back soon, trying then to regain your confidence. Best regards. Cinzia Zanni - General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Location is a plus

Posted Nov 11, 2016
The hotel is nice and comfortable but it needs renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff - thin walls!

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: The room size was good. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast. All amenities you would expect, but plastic cups rather than glasses?
Cons: Ordinary conversations from the next room were able to be heard.
Location: Great location across the road from the railway station and on the edge of the historical city centre.
The staff were very good, from front desk, to bar and breakfast room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

very good experience

Posted Oct 29, 2016
the mercure chain is pretty good. rhe bologna one (opposite train station) is excellent. overall enjoyed our overnight here, for lication, comfort, value for money. front desk knowledgeable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Good location, clean warm room,

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Adjacent to the station, 5 minutes to good restaurants, shopping etc
Excellent hotel for a weekend break. Reception staff good, linen, shower etc fine Great value
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gosford

A hotel with good location but needs refurbishment

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: The location is opposite the railway station with bus stops immediately outside the door and a car park entry from the hotel.
The room was small by Australian standards for similar hotels in which I have stayed. The view was of other hotel rooms in a quadrangle. It was clean but the bed mattress was hard and centred - you ended up in the centre of your side as it felt worn. The bathroom has one of the worst ergonomically designed shower/bath recesses I have come across in over 30 years of business travel. As you shower you bump into the hot/cold on/off handle and as you exit the bath tub around the end of the glass panel, you have to dodge the head height towel rack at the end of the tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincs

4 nights in Bolonga

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Its proximity to the centre of Bologna and very helpful staff. Also you can print your boading pass on the comuter which allows you 22mins free use.
Cons: Slightly bigger shower.
Location: Walking distance to Via Independence accessible - 2 towers and local attactions. The hotel was opposite the railway station 35mins to Florence great.
Very pleasant quiet twin bedded room with juliette balcony overlooking the garden.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sg

Great location. Little comfort. Budget hotel.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Location is perfect. Right in front of the station
Cons: Old, musty smell, dirty. Very dated. Definitely not a 4 star
Location: Right in front of the train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

weekend away

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: we walked to the historic centre each day,on weekend evenings street performers and musicians play in the evening.railway will take you all over italy
great situation beside railway station and bus for airport. 20 minute walk to historic centre via a straight street with lots of shops hotels and eating places en route. most of the staff had a little english and were very helpful. Breakfast on a par with other hotels i have been to and if wanted there was food available most of the day. had twin bedded room and room clean and had a shower /bath and bidet. beds comfortable. very good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Conveniently situated hotel.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Convenient for station and centre of Bologna. Lovely little garden. Pleasant staff. Great coffee and biscuits at the bar.
Cons: Nothing; it was all good.
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby. Lots of shops en route to the main square.
Our room was very comfortable, with all the expected amenities including coffee and tea making facilities. We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the garden and it was very quiet. The hotel is very conveniently situated - right opposite the railway station where the bus from the airport stops and collects and about 10 minutes' walk from the main square. The hotel was fully booked, so obviously has a good reputation.