Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincs

4 nights in Bolonga

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Its proximity to the centre of Bologna and very helpful staff. Also you can print your boading pass on the comuter which allows you 22mins free use.
Cons: Slightly bigger shower.
Location: Walking distance to Via Independence accessible - 2 towers and local attactions. The hotel was opposite the railway station 35mins to Florence great.
Very pleasant quiet twin bedded room with juliette balcony overlooking the garden.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

soggiorno breve ma confortevole

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: la cortesia e il sorriso degli operatori.
Cons: Tinteggiatura delle pareti
Location: comoda e centrale la posizione.
Camera luminosa e ben esposta, rapporto qualità-prezzo adeguato, minimi i ritocchi necessari, es. tinteggiatura delle pareti. Nel complesso mi ritengo soddisfatto.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sg

Great location. Little comfort. Budget hotel.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Location is perfect. Right in front of the station
Cons: Old, musty smell, dirty. Very dated. Definitely not a 4 star
Location: Right in front of the train station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

weekend away

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: we walked to the historic centre each day,on weekend evenings street performers and musicians play in the evening.railway will take you all over italy
great situation beside railway station and bus for airport. 20 minute walk to historic centre via a straight street with lots of shops hotels and eating places en route. most of the staff had a little english and were very helpful. Breakfast on a par with other hotels i have been to and if wanted there was food available most of the day. had twin bedded room and room clean and had a shower /bath and bidet. beds comfortable. very good value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Conveniently situated hotel.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Convenient for station and centre of Bologna. Lovely little garden. Pleasant staff. Great coffee and biscuits at the bar.
Cons: Nothing; it was all good.
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby. Lots of shops en route to the main square.
Our room was very comfortable, with all the expected amenities including coffee and tea making facilities. We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the garden and it was very quiet. The hotel is very conveniently situated - right opposite the railway station where the bus from the airport stops and collects and about 10 minutes' walk from the main square. The hotel was fully booked, so obviously has a good reputation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milano

ottima posizione di fronte alla stazione.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Posizione e tariffa relativamente conveniente
ottima posizione fronte stazione , albergo enorme ed anonimo anni 80... reception tipo check in aereo, fila per chiedere qualunque cosa. Neanche un servizio di facchinaggio; se lasciate il bagaglio dovrete sistemarlo da soli in un deposito e poi da soli riprenderlo !! Assurdo in un albergo che ha 244 camere e che si pubblica 4 stelle !! Inviata richiesta di una camera silenziosa il giorno prima al customer care della Mercure ;... neanche ci hanno degnati di rispondere tanto meno di dar corso alla ns richiesta.., fortunatamente soddisfatta dal personale della reception al ns arrivo.. Camera grande ma vecchiotta... dotata di un terrazzo che dà su un bellissimo giardino ...purtroppo inutilizzabile causa escrementi ovunque di piccioni ! Finestre che non vengono lavate almeno da un anno ... Da preferire solo se lo Starhotels, proprio a fianco, costa molto di più, ma li siamo su un altro pianeta .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
A great experience. The hotel is in a perfect location next to the train station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Goede locatie.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Goede locatie. Wel gedateerde inrichting. Dichtbij station. Ruime kamers
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Good value hotel next to Bologna Central Station

Posted Sep 13, 2016
We booked this hotel as we planned to stay 3 nights with day trips to Florence and Rimini. Closeness to the station was a must. Hotel is modern with lovely private garden. Lots of places to eat nearby and at the station. Historical Centre is within walking distance and is sheltered all the way by the famous Bologna colonnades. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Remodeling long over due

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The location across from Bologna Centrale station made day excursions in the region a breeze.
Cons: A total bathroom remodel is 15 years over due.
Location: It's ideal for touring the Renaissance towns in Emilia Romagna and also a doable, cheaper option for sightseeing in Florence and Venice.
This was the only major chain hotel that I booked for a 3 week, 5 country itinerary, and it was in the poorest condition. It's not the first time in a Mercure for me and I've never encountered this at one of their properties before. The bathroom fixtures appeared to be at least 30 years old, and never deep-cleaned or re-caulked. There was black mould between the wall tiles that bleach and a Qtip could have easily fixed. Worse yet was the rust around the chrome tub fixtures. We own a condo hotel unit at a US resort and spend $kk keeping up with mandated fixture replacements every 15 years. Not doing simple deep cleaning annual maintenance would cost us the loss of our 4 Diamonds rating in one season.