Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

nice location

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: stuff , location
Cons: more food options
Location: train station front of the hotel will help you to go anywhere , some good restaurants is close to it , down town is just 10 minutes walking
nice hotel location , nice stuff , good hotel services , rooms are ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by The Starhotels Excelsior Management, Hotel Management
Dear Yaser, thank you for your feedback - we are glad to hear you enjoyed our stategic location and that overall you liked your recent stay with us. We really hope to have you back soon. Warm Regards The Starhotels Excelsior Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Good location and reasonable

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Location is very nice
Cons: I booked for 3 but some stuff was for two. But after I called front clerk they served immediately
Location: Very good
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by ., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at Starhotels Excelsior-Bologna. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards The Starhotels Excelsior Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Nice hotel but bedbugs ruined my stay.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Staff were nice and at first glance, the hotel appears to be nice and cozy. However, there are no fans to circulate air, no AC either even though it was warm outside, room very stuffy due to rain and fog outside...only option was heater but it was suffocating. A simple ceiling fan would do. If you open window, get ready for mosquitos since there are no screens. No hand towels. But worst of all, I left with bedbug bites on my face, arms, and neck. At first I thought they were mosquito bites. But given the classic pattern of three to four bites in a row (not randomly scattered), red and itchy, its clear that these are bedbug bites. My husband, a physician, confirmed this as well. I had to sterilize my clothing, shoes, bags, etc. Never staying at this hotel again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Starhotels Excelsior Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Any suggestion or opinion, related to our service and/or to our venue, is actually highly taken into consideration and, if in any way something can be improved, be well assured that our will aims to accomplish this achievement. As far as your complain concerning the bedbugs in the room, we immediately have spoken with housekeeping department to better understand the situation and we can definitely say there were no bedbugs in your room - infact a pest control is done regularly, therefore is more likely that the bites were mosquitos bites. We understand that, what you had experienced during your stay was unpleasant and for this reason, we would like express our apologies for the inconveniences caused. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Starhotels Excelsior. Best regards. The Starhotels Excelsior Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, dirty

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Needs to be renovated very old, dirty carpets, even the gym is missing some of its most important equipment
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2016 by The Starhotels Excelsior Management, Hotel Management
Dear Khalid, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are sorry if your stay was not as perfect as you were expected. We really hope you will reconsider to stay with us, when you next will be in Bologna, so that we will do our very best to ensure we exceed your expectations next time. Kind Regards The Starhotels Excelsior Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

business hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: location
good location , clean , well maintained , but not beautiful , parking is overpriced at additional cost .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by The Starhotels Excelsior Management, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We’re delighted you enjoyed the location which is indeed, second to none. It was disappointing to hear that you have found our car parking expensive – this is actually the average price of a private garage in town. Of course there are more convenient options - such as parking on the street – but the level of safety is definitely lower. We’re hoping to welcoming you back soon at Starhotels Excelsior-Bologna.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for station and city centre

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Across road from station 15-20 minutes walk to most of city Breakfast average Quiet and peaceful Restaurant not recommended Modern hotel with no atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Very good hotel convenient to train station.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Good facilities, service and standard of accommodation.
Location: Great location to train station, airport bus and city centre generally.
Stayed overnight after arriving in Bologna by train on route to the airport. Very happy with service received and quality of accommodation. Close to the station and airport bus and a comfortable ten minute walk into the historic centre. Would stay again if visiting Bologna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Closest hotel to the train station

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Very comfortable, fast check in, good breakfast buffet, and a nice walk to the historic center of Bologna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Clean modern hotel next to station

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of the staff: the proximity to the main station; the refurbishment of the area around the hotel (safe, clean and modern).
Cons: Nothing: my stay was only a few days.
Location: The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the historic old town, which includes the Piazza, Basilica Petronius and Asinelli Towers, and plenty of trattoria.
Excellent welcome from staff - fluent in English despite my broken Italian; my (double) room was ready despite an early arrival; staff were always helpful about the vicinity and local amenities; the breakfast room was modern with a full array of international foods on offer; checkout was painless, with a free luggage holding facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
excellent location opposite the train station, walking distance to town centre, large comfortable rooms and helpful staff.