Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Granite Bay, CA

Shore dive trip, first time in Bonaire

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location, dive facilities, restaurant, big room with kitchenette
Location: Great location near town and a short drive to all the west coast shore dive sites.
We rented a pick-up truck and borrowed tanks from Buddy Dive. We logged 12 self-guided dives over 4 days with a family of four. The dive shop at Buddy Dive and drive-though tank service greatly facilitated our adventures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great scuba/snorkeling access.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
One of the best scuba place on Bonair. Great snorkeling at and near the resort. Local dive shop is surprisingly reasonably priced. Rooms are large, ok beds but nothing fancy. It is not a luxury hotel. The pools are forgettable, but you will not care unless you have small kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska USA

Best dive stay ever

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Terrific experience all around at Buddy Dive. First I need a comfortable bed and they had them! Some beds in Mexico are like plywood but they had a great memory foam combination. Second the dive operation is amazing. Well organized and great boats, great dive staff that helped in any way you needed. I do wish they had more food inclusive options, the breakfast was alittle expensive I thought. But they have a wonderful place for supper with a very diverse menu and another eating area for lunch or supper with basic food. Rooms have kitchenette so we did do our own breakfast and some sandwiches for lunch. Really helpful staff and great location. Yes we will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great for Scuba

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: The rooms need a bit of an update, especially the key systems, and they need to do something about the noise from the generator. The food could be bet
Location: Go snorkeling and scuba diving right off the hotel's dock. Go to Woodwind Snorkel and Sailing excursions for a wonderful guided snorkel trip.
Buddy Dive is focused on the scuba experience and seems great at that. We rented some equipment and asked for some referrals and they were great. The hotel part of it could use some updating. The rooms are nice and spacious, and we had a nice balcony overlooking gardens and a sea view. Unfortunately we didn't spend much time there because the building that holds a giant generator made so much noise it wasn't pleasant. The generator doesn't run all the time, and we noticed that the noise didn't reach some of the other areas of the resort. The rooms have actual keys, not key cards, and the key has your room number on it so if you loose it anyone who finds it has easy access to your room. Likewise the safe key. Our housekeeper, Jacqueline was wonderful. There are two pools, both pretty small. There is a fancier restaurant and a shore-side bar with food. The food at the restaurant was good, especially the salt-encased roast dorado. The wait staff was wonderful, especially Natania. The bar food was fine-pretty standard bar food. The Friday barbecue was awful. There is free wi-fi, but I kept getting security notices from Apple that it was not a secure network.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Martha's Vineyard

Amazing Diving

Posted Feb 24, 2017
I've done a lot of traveling and this trip to Bonaire was by far my favorite. Fantastic food wherever we went and gorgeous landscapes. I will be going back next year for an even longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Divers' paradise (but there are mosquitoes).

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Location, scuba services, and surprisingly good food.
Cons: Mosquito management - - put screens on the porches, and instruct cleaning staff to close doors while cleaning.
Location: Bonaire is paradise for scuba divers and snorkelers. For scuba, Buddy's has excellent fleet of boats. For snorkeling, rent a car. Bird watching too.
Buddy's will cater to your diving needs. Beautiful peaceful location, friendly staff, and excellent food. All facilities and boats are modern and comfortable. Only downside is moderate number of mosquitos, and no screens. So, either kill every mosquito in your room or wear repellant to bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shreveport,la

Great stay.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
House reef was good. Food options were limited but good. Clean. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with pier

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Well maintained hotel with own pier. Rooms are large, comfortable, clean. We are snorkelers. There is a lot of fish here, right off the pier. Highly recommend taking water taxi to Klein Bonaire and exploring island and boat trips with divers. We also liked catamaran snorkeling trip with Woodward (?) company, located in the Flamingo Divi resort. All these trips were arranged from Buddy Dive resort by divers shop staff. Bonaire is an island mostly for divers. Corals on the shallow places were mostly ruined by hurricanes couple years ago. So there is a lot of fish but not always good corals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Great for divers!

Posted Aug 7, 2016
We hadn't been diving in awhile and wanted to go back to Bonaire. It was our first trip to Buddy Dive Resort. The resort is perfect for those who like to make their own schedule. As for the staff, some understand the need for personality; others not so much. Over all they were very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Hotlanta

Diving in Paradise

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Buddy Dive staff was terrific and the dive & snorkeling sites, sea life, dive masters, boats and equipment were first class! Will definitely go back again...